electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Linux as a music workstation
Just enough to be dangerous. (episode 3)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Just enough to be dangerous. (episode 3) Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, I'm getting the hang of it. I can now console around the system and with some efford move and make and delete files from the prompt. I'm nowhere near as fast as I was with Dos but I'm getting there.

I realy like some of this stuff. I realy like this apt-get thing where I can have the system install new and free programs. However; I wanted the Gimp which I thought should be easy to apt-get as it's a relatively mature program and this ran into dependency problems of a nature I don't quite understand. It wasn't too clear about exactly what the problem was or how to deal with this but it did clean up the mess itself so at least it fails in a nicer way then Windows when it does.

Famous last words.... ;¬)

I also tried to make Flash able to output sound, preferably as a normal Jack client but despite my learning experience in installing the latest version it still refuses to output sound and doesn't offer any options to configure thise either.

I'm not so pleased about that. I'm not so pleased about XMMS either which may look vaguely like win-amp but instead turned out to be a crash-prone b*tch, taking the graphical shell with it. I learned how to get to the prompt without the graphicall shell and kill it but nobody told me how to get back to the graphics after that. I took the mature solution and walked away from my problems and switched to ALSA player for my cd and mp3 enjoyment. Less graphics, no crashes.

On the plus side; there was this non-techy girl hanging around the Signal Automatique studio and she wanted to check her mail. Didn't even notice what OS she was on so that's a nice point for Linux. I also quite like the alternative way of viewing PDF files, never cared much for Adobe.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2484
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If the graphics crash so bad that you end up back at prompt on a text-only display, then typically "startx" or "xstart" is the name of the script to get it back up & running.

On the flip side, if you ever want to kill the graphics to get to a shell and/or restart the x-server (the graphical layer), I think "Ctl+Alt+Backspace" is the proper combo.

There are several key combo's that work directly with your x-server, things that cycle between resolution (800x600, 1024x768, etc), and even ones that cycle between work spaces (complete graphical screens "sets", so you could have your internet browsing in one workspace, and your audio editing in another, gimp in yet another...helps with screen clutter and managing 25 open windows). I don't recall these key combo's off hand, but they are extremely helpful when you do run into a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nescivi



Joined: Mar 23, 2005
Posts: 94
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

another hint:

you can switch between virtual terminals by pressing <shift> + <ctrl> + <Fx>, where x can be from 1 till 12.
Usually, from 7 on, are the graphical terminals (so F7 should bring you back to your graphical environment, if it is still up and running).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks. I haven't been too active with this because of more pratical deadlines.

Current problems; if a file is set as "read only" for example due to being copied from a cd-rom by a windows box the I can trash it on Linux but I can't empty the trashcan due to privilidges. The workaround I found was moving it to some known dir, loging in as root and manually deleting it from the prompt. This is anoying.

Also; I need GCC to run since I want to compile ChucK for Linux and have it on my desktop too where the keyboard is better and the prompt more powerfull. Can somebody please tell me how to install GCC when your system for arcane reasons came without it?

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
brinxmat



Joined: Oct 24, 2005
Posts: 262
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
if a file is set as "read only" for example due to being copied from a cd-rom by a windows box the I can trash it on Linux but I can't empty the trashcan due to privilidges. The workaround I found was moving it to some known dir, loging in as root and manually deleting it from the prompt. This is anoying.


sudo rm /path/to/file -- even in trash, you'll be prompted for an admin password.

No logout/-in.

Is it really *n*x's problem that it can't cope with Win CDs that copy privileges onto portable media?

regarding gcc -- if you're running debian then you use the package manager, and get the debian package. Commandline apt-get install gcc or something.[/code]

_________________
-- Say "&Eth;onne hit w&aelig;s hrenig we&eth;er"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Linux as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use