electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
G2 as a digital control device
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TheRain



Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Seattle, Washington U.S.A.
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 9

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:35 pm    Post subject: G2 as a digital control device
Subject description: g2 more than music?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It occured to me at one point that things like the logic modules and stuff might be useful for connecting to my electronic experiments... electronic as in non-musical experiments.. as in electronic devices I'm building. The first test I did was to hook up my digital multi meter to one of the audio outputs of the G2 and in the G2 editor I hooked up a "constant" module. I thought that this might be capable of placing a constant voltage on the output. The output meter in the editor increases and decreases accordingly when you change the constant... but when I tested it with the multimeter at the output, the voltage appeard to always come to rest at around 2 MV (or something like that, can't remember specific.). It did seem to change when I was moving the knob, but once I stopped it seemed to come to rest at the same value every time. So I decided to try reading an OSC at the output and amplify and deamplify it and see what the A/C voltage was. This resulted in variations from 0 to 300 MV. I understand that normal line voltage is supposed to be somewhere around 1V max so i guess it falls in that range.

Anyway, that's just a little report on my dallying today. Anyone else here mess with electronics and are interested in this sort of thing with the G2? Anyone have some thoughts on it? I was thinking that maybe I could use a capacitor and level out the rise and fall of oscilation and boost or cut the voltage as desired to interface with some of my microcontrollers and IC's and stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fozzie



Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 875
Location: Near Wageningen, the Netherlands
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:19 am    Post subject: Re: G2 as a digital control device
Subject description: g2 more than music?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TheRain wrote:
The output meter in the editor increases and decreases accordingly when you change the constant... but when I tested it with the multimeter at the output, the voltage appeard to always come to rest at around 2 MV (or something like that, can't remember specific.). It did seem to change when I was moving the knob, but once I stopped it seemed to come to rest at the same value every time.

Outputs are AC coupled and thereby incapable of outputting DC currents (that's why after a while your multimeter keeps returning to one value).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRain



Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Seattle, Washington U.S.A.
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 9

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Fozzie, thanks... that's a term I had not heard before. I figured it must be something like that though. Any other thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2488
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you do some microcontroller experiments, try to make a MIDI interface for them. Then the G2 could talk to the uC via MIDI, sending 7bit values. Use the uC as a DAC, or ADC, while the G2 does all the brain work helping you develop your algorithms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TheRain



Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Seattle, Washington U.S.A.
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 9

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, that's a good idea. I have done MIDI output with PIC before, but never input...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use