electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
recordings are being cut off
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:08 am    Post subject: recordings are being cut off Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have recorded a few audio tracks in Cubase LE and exported them as "audio mixdown" wav. files.

Well then i have converted them to mp3 with one of those freeby wav conversion utilities.

When I open them in winamp or windows media, most of the song is cut off!

I downloaded a new mp3 conversion utility but that didn't help.

Could the problem be something with Cubase?

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
softfin



Joined: Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Far in the north
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Make sure that the mixdown wav is ok. If it is, the problem is probably in the mp3 encoder you use. If the wav is also being cut off too early, make sure you have chosen the whole song from the "time strip" above the tracks.

I use Cubase sx myself and usually mixdown directly to mp3/ogg vorbis. I don't know for sure about the LE version, but the SX does have a good (fraunhofer) mp3 encoder which I assume to be a bit better than most freeware encoders. Please correct me if I'm wrong here.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think LAME is supposed to be very good, not sure if any other free encoders exist.
_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
williamsharkey



Joined: Jul 31, 2005
Posts: 61
Location: usa

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Many programs have different export modes like:

-Export Everything

-Export Selection

Perhaps you only exported a selection of the song, which may be highlighted, or have loop markers surrounding it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

softfin wrote:
Make sure that the mixdown wav is ok. If it is, the problem is probably in the mp3 encoder you use. If the wav is also being cut off too early, make sure you have chosen the whole song from the "time strip" above the tracks.

Hope this helps.
>I think LAME is supposed to be very good, not sure if any other free encoders exist.


Thanks for your help. I checked the time strip, re-exported, tried several times. LAME is the original encoder I used. Then I downloaded something called Koyote soft.

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20510
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Kassen wrote:
I think LAME is supposed to be very good, not sure if any other free encoders exist.


All free mp3 tools I saw are graphical wrappers around the (non graphical) LAME encoder (sometimes with a buy option for the Fraunhofer encoder). FWIW, I never had problems with LAME cutting stuff off.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Kassen wrote:
I think LAME is supposed to be very good, not sure if any other free encoders exist.


All free mp3 tools I saw are graphical wrappers around the (non graphical) LAME encoder (sometimes with a buy option for the Fraunhofer encoder). FWIW, I never had problems with LAME cutting stuff off.


Yeah, it worked great a few months ago when I uploaded my first crappy songs. Well now you guys are spared the torture of having to hear any more Confused

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20510
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

laura woodswalker wrote:
Well now you guys are spared the torture of having to hear any more Confused


Crying or Very sad torture me, please Shocked

You didn't directly say so I think .. the wav mixdown is OK?

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:

All free mp3 tools I saw are graphical wrappers around the (non graphical) LAME encoder (sometimes with a buy option for the Fraunhofer encoder). FWIW, I never had problems with LAME cutting stuff off.


No, it shouldn't. If anything MP3 encoding will add time. Because of the block-processing inherent in that kind of re-synthesis-based encoding the end of the file will likely be padded with zeros. This can lead to gaps in playlists (no big deal most of the time). I agree with the point above that the issue is likely one of exporting a selection.

I'm not sure about the current situation but some time ago LAME overtook Fraunhofer in listening tests so if we take that, the politics and our wallet into account I'd go with LAME unless something very persuasive pops up (such as being lazy and going with SoundForge's default whatever it is....).

I always inspect the final wav itself in my wave editor, encode, re-open the encoded file and inspect that again. I could imagine some theoretical advantages in soundquality in "rendering directly to MP3" because maybe if the implementation is clever you'll get one less set of rounding errors but if we consider the nature of MP3 I think that's rather academic and I'd rather do it manually, perhaps with a few tries to optimise the encoding settings.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
softfin



Joined: Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Far in the north
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I remember reading a comparison of the currently popular mp3 encoders, or should I say codecs...Anyway, I found the link to that comparison: http://arstechnica.com/wankerdesk/1q00/mp3/mp3-1.html

Although there seems to be differences in quality between the different encoders at lower bitrates, they all produce fine quality at higher bitrates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Interesting. Thanks.
_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:14 am    Post subject: Re: recordings are being cut off Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

laura woodswalker wrote:
I have recorded a few audio tracks in Cubase LE and exported them as "audio mixdown" wav. files.

Well then i have converted them to mp3 with one of those freeby wav conversion utilities.

When I open them in winamp or windows media, most of the song is cut off!

I downloaded a new mp3 conversion utility but that didn't help.

Could the problem be something with Cubase?


I think I figured it out!
The export menu was set to "bit Depth: 8 whateveritis.". My Cubase for Idiots book says to set it for 16.

So maybe the export was cutting off HALF the recording! Laughing

Does that make sense?

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20510
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Right, yes that could make sense.

You may have saved the wav in raw format ... which means that the info about how the wav is constructed (like mono or stereo, 8 or 16 bits, 22kHz or 96, or 44.1 or whatever) is not contained in the wav itself meaning the mp3 coder just has to guess about it.

The standard guess would probably be 44.1 kHz 16 bit stereo, and if the wav was not that it could give all kinds of funny results, like what you had, or terrible distortion, or wrong speed and pitch and what not.

Did you see the "raw" word somewhere? Try to avoid it !

Go for at least 16 bits

Go for 44.1 kHz, or 88.2

Use stereo

Unless you have good reasons to do it different of course Very Happy

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Right, yes that could make sense.

You may have saved the wav in raw format ... which means that the info about how the wav is constructed (like mono or stereo, 8 or 16 bits, 22kHz or 96, or 44.1 or whatever) is not contained in the wav itself meaning the mp3 coder just has to guess about it.

The standard guess would probably be 44.1 kHz 16 bit stereo, and if the wav was not that it could give all kinds of funny results, like what you had, or terrible distortion, or wrong speed and pitch and what not.

Did you see the "raw" word somewhere? Try to avoid it !

Go for at least 16 bits

Go for 44.1 kHz, or 88.2

Use stereo

Unless you have good reasons to do it different of course Very Happy


The export dialog box doesn't give me many options. I think it is .wav and a bunch of other things like AiFF and things I never heard of. It has a few choices for bit depth and for some reason it defaulted to 8. beats hell outta me!

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Low Note



Joined: Jul 20, 2007
Posts: 146
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

are you exporting with your locators set to the beginning and end of the track?

Hit ctrl+A and Then L (i think that's the shortcut you want. It might be P. My cubase machine is in a different county at the moment).

Make sure that cubase knows how much you want to export.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Low Note wrote:
are you exporting with your locators set to the beginning and end of the track?

Hit ctrl+A and Then L (i think that's the shortcut you want. It might be P. My cubase machine is in a different county at the moment).

Make sure that cubase knows how much you want to export.


Since I put the bit depth at 16, the problem seems to be resolved. I guess since there was half as many bits, cubase only exported HALf of it!

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use