electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
"out of memory" error. Please help. (solved as of 1/21)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
SamAndrew



Joined: Jan 24, 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:42 pm    Post subject:  "out of memory" error. Please help. (solved as of 1/21)
Subject description: "Out of memory. Open the midi dialog and enable the port again"
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I keep running into this error in the Nord Modular editor software:

"Out of memory.
Open the midi dialogue and enable the port again."

Now, I *know* that this error can be attributed to two specific patchs on the Nord because I have tried 3 difference computers and 2 different midi interfaces, all with the same results. The patches that are causing this are mic (audio in) patches. One is a lo-fi (megaphone) patch and one is a vocal digitizer.

At any rate, how do I get rid of this error?? I even recreated the patch and it was fine at first THEN THE ERROR CAME BACK!! ARRRGGGHHH! >Sad

I have never run into this problem before, someone help me please! Thanks!


Vocal Digitzier (Jan '11) b.pch
 Description:
This is the other one.

Download
 Filename:  Vocal Digitzier (Jan '11) b.pch
 Filesize:  1.02 KB
 Downloaded:  97 Time(s)


1. telephone_voice_(extrm gate).pch
 Description:
This is one of the patches that causes the error.

Download
 Filename:  1. telephone_voice_(extrm gate).pch
 Filesize:  1.13 KB
 Downloaded:  96 Time(s)


Last edited by SamAndrew on Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SamAndrew



Joined: Jan 24, 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:49 pm    Post subject:  Problem solved! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Okay, no one replied but I figured this out on my own. The error was due to some kind of glitch in the patch. I had to recreate the patch and immediately save it to the Nord (overwriting the faulty patch). This fixed the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20703
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 156
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Laughing had marked you as unread to look into the patches later on, but good you found it!
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sbcssbcs



Joined: Mar 24, 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem solved! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

SamAndrew wrote:
Okay, no one replied but I figured this out on my own. The error was due to some kind of glitch in the patch. I had to recreate the patch and immediately save it to the Nord (overwriting the faulty patch). This fixed the problem.


Hi, I also just registered here because I found this thread! My Nord Modular Keyboard used to work fine with the editor until suddenly the same problem as yours appeared.

This is going to be a long post, I just want to describe my experiences in case somebody has a similar problem.

I had only about 5-8 seconds to upload/download a patch each time I activated MIDI before the 'out of memory' message appeared. I actually used the G2 demo (the one that creates sound on your computer) to create patches (keeping in mind which modules are "allowed" to be used, since the G2 has many modules the G1 has not), then recreated these patches "deaf" using the G1 editor, then activated the midi port and hurried up to load the patch to the NM, then tweaked it and assigned knobs through the NM's menu.

I tried two different computers (WIN), different OS on my computer, all possible compatibility modes, the MIDIFIX utility (M-Audio?) that cleans up your MIDI drivers as has been described in another post, two different MIDI interfaces, a powered hub, and all MIDI cables I had.

Then I came across this post, and it got me in the right direction. It could be some broken patch in the NM's memory. Strange that this can kill the MIDI connection even when the patch is not loaded though.

Anyway, I ended up backing up my own patches, which (un-)fortunately are not many thanks to the editor problems, and started checking all patches stored inside the NM.

First, I loaded every single patch and overwrote it in the same location (thinking perhaps the memory would get re-allocated that way). Didn't help.

While doing that, I noticed two patches that had (0) voices, i.e. they were somehow too complex for the DSP to handle them. I thought they might be the problem so I overwrote them with another existing patch to get rid of them. Didn't help.

Then, I noticed one of my own patches was causing the editor to load and not respond (during the backup of my patches). When opening the backed-up patch from my harddisk, the editor showed a message saying something about an 'error in assiging morph groups' or so. So I fixed that patch by un-assigning then re-assigning all morph groups, then uploaded it to the NM in the same position. Didn't help.

Then, I chose a small patch that was not likely to cause problems (the simplest bass patch) and overwrote all other patches(!) with that patch. So now my NM offers an exquisite choice of equally well-programmed and equally good-sounding bass patches. Wink Well, it didn't really help... or did it? It seems I had to save the patch also to all unused locations - 101 to 999. In case you're wondering, yes it takes quite some time!

It must have been _some_ particular patch in the memory was causing problems, plus the MIDI interface one day decided it would want more power to work. The problem didn't change but after I connected the MIDI interface via a powered hub it was working stable!

Now I am curious what happens after I load my patches back on the NM and get rid of all the bass patch duplicates.


The NM definitely must have a soul. A mere machine simply cannot behave in such ways, can it? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20703
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 156
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A soul, definitely Exclamation


welcome sbcssbcs

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use