electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
ASIO for all questions
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:27 am    Post subject: ASIO for all questions
Subject description: Should I take the plunge?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is there anyone out there who has installed ASIO for all on a Creative XFi Fatality sound card running under XP?

I'm just wondering about a few things.
If I did it on mine, would I still be able to use Soundfonts under Cakewalk?
The Soundfont manager (which allows me to control how much RAM is set aside for Soundfonts etc.) seems to be an integral part of the Creative software installation.
Although I'd like to upgrade some of this stuff soon, I want to be sure I'll be able to finish some tracks in Cakewalk (using quite a few Soundfonts) first.
Is ASIO for all really going to make a justifiable difference while using a dinosaur like Cakewalk PA9?

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
klangumsetzer



Joined: Jan 23, 2006
Posts: 394
Location: sweden
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hello,

in general if there is an asio driver available for your sound card and your software can use it then you should use it.

if there is no asio driver available from the manufacture of your soundcard you can try asio4all (google for it). using an asio driver will not interfere with your use of softsynths. however,an asio driver is needed if you want to play and tweak softsynths live i.e. with latencies < 10 ms.


hope this helps

eike
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use