electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
<on air> Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Waldorf Blofeld Fuse resistor
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Kosmo Mishka



Joined: Apr 18, 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:58 am    Post subject: Waldorf Blofeld Fuse resistor Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, I have a trouble with Waldorf Blofeld (low audio output). I found that it can be broken fuse-resistor. I also found that it is 6.8ohm 1/4 watt. Is it ok if I will put 6.8 1w non SMD resistor? I am not sure how fuse-resistor works, is it ok that wattage is bigger, will it still work as fuse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sneakthief



Joined: Jul 24, 2006
Posts: 525
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

non-SMD is OK.

Read this if you haven't:

http://electro-music.com/forum/post-387332.html

_________________
Sneak-Thief - raw electrofunk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kosmo Mishka



Joined: Apr 18, 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes, I saw that.
But is it ok if I will use fuse resistor with much wattage?
And is it ok if I will use usual resistor, not fusuble (when I ask in a shop about it, seller evend do not understand me).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20269
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Right .. I had never heard of fusible resistors either .. but apparently that is a thing that actually existed like 30 years ago ...

Reading that other thread (link from sneakthief ), what I make from that is that an ordinary resistor is used which is dimensioned in such a way that it will blow up to protect the circuit in case something bad happens.

Given that idea I would not use a 1 Watt resistor, but use an ordinary 1/4 Watt one instead, or otherwise the protective function would get lost.

You can use a normal axial resistor of course if you can not find a proper SMD one.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kosmo Mishka



Joined: Apr 18, 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I replaced it with common SMD resistor and it works! Notice for people who want to replace resistor. There are different SMD sizes, make sure you pickup right.

So now all works but couple things frustrate me:
1. How to check if the SL option activated or not? I tried upload samples, and it works, but when I choose them as OSC they do not make sound.
2. Arpeggiator. First step sometimes out of sync. I tried different settings, different clock sources, but it did not help. OS is the latest 1.16B. Actually when after replacing resistor on this Blofeld I tried it, and it was OS 11, and the Arp patches sounded just like a mess. After upgrading to 1.16B they start sounding like they should, but first step out of clock. So I wonder maybe there is some hardware issue with the clock?
3. When resonance is really high display blinking a bit when I turn resonance encoder.

UPD: You won`t belive what Waldorf support answered me: "I´m sorry, our developer is deep in another project at this moment. A new Blofeld firmware version is planned for 2nd quarter 2014."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michfiel



Joined: Jun 19, 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 6:43 am    Post subject: Waldorf Blofeld Fuse resistor Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Kosmo Mishka wrote:

[...]
UPD: You won`t belive what Waldorf support answered me: "I´m sorry, our developer is deep in another project at this moment. A new Blofeld firmware version is planned for 2nd quarter 2014."


I also tried to contact Waldorf support, but don't even got an answer.
Also I am very curious about a new firmware version. Let's hope it's not an april fools day joke (2nd quarter…)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use