electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Atari Punk Console + 4 step Baby sequencer
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:15 am    Post subject:  Atari Punk Console + 4 step Baby sequencer Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

HI . I made ​​an atari punk console with a 556 IC and I had in mind to
connect it to a 4 step sequencer, using a IC 4017 and a NE555. I found
schemes on the internet but it does not seem to work. Someone is able to
give me some advice on how to link the 2 circuits?
[img] http://www.jameco.com/Jameco/PressRoom/Recipe3Fig1.jpg [/img]
[img] http://www.scottmetoyer.com/images/CHASER1.GIF [/img]
[img] http://note.monoanimal.com/images/apccircuit_2.jpg [/img]




. The result that I want is + or - this
[url] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hM3bqh_ReYQ [/url]
and a useful link to build the sequencer is this [img] http://www.midiwall.com/gear/babyseq/ [/img] but is not clear to me the 556's pin to connect the CV OUT(of the last image) ... I read somewhere pin 11- or 2 but do not seem to work Confused . Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inlifeindeath



Joined: Apr 02, 2010
Posts: 309
Location: Albuquerque, NM

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

the control pin on the 556 is where the CV goes, so pins 3 and 11. wire each 4017 output through a pot, and then sum the output voltages and send to the CV pins. You should check out HexInvertor's Simple Seq project on the forum here.
You can also look up datasheets very easily.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/borisandfef
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So the pins are the control ones 3 & 11 .Shoud i put diodes 1N4148 as in the image [img] http://note.monoanimal.com/images/apccircuit_2.jpg [/img].Would you like to give me a link for:"HexInvertor's Simple Seq project"I can't find it .Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umschmitt



Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 154
Location: brrlin
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello & welcome ! You'll find it here :
http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-49287.html
(ok his name's HexInverter…)

_________________
::U::N::S::C::H::N::E::L::L::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umschmitt



Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 154
Location: brrlin
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

De nada. As explained on the sketch you provided, you should connect the output of the sequencer to pin 2 of the 556 (for pitch control) - and/or pin 12 (for pulse width control, whatever it could lead to, hopefully fun). On the APC I built, I let the control pins unconnected.
And yes, you need to use diodes as shown, to make each step's tension independent from the others'…

_________________
::U::N::S::C::H::N::E::L::L::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:49 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Gracias.So pin 2 for pitch pin 12 for pulse and control pin disconnected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Should I connect the potentiometers in this way?


pot.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  79 KB
 Viewed:  171 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

pot.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umschmitt



Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 154
Location: brrlin
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Concerning pots and diodes, it looks fine to me. Your LED resistors seem way too huge to let them glow. I'd say they should be in the zone around 4k7-10K if you run it from 9 volts (babyseq schem says 18k !) but it depends greatly of the actual LEDs you use !
(and don't forget to try the seq output on pin 12 on the 556 for octave madness !)

_________________
::U::N::S::C::H::N::E::L::L::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:47 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Don't care about the leds I'm not using it with those resistors.Anyway I've connected pots and diodes using that layout and I've connected all to pin 2 of the 556 (as I wrote in the image)and it isn't working.It doesn't change pitch Sad.Now i will try with pin 12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umschmitt



Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 154
Location: brrlin
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Did I really write pin 2 ? Oh my ! Sincere apologizes ! Err I meant err… pin 1. My mistake. I was actually doing mental gymnastics between the 556, my double 555 circuit and respective datasheets… (and at one point I followed monoanimal's drawing)
So pin 1. I'm far from a genius with those electronic things, but I'll stay connected here for a while tonight, so if you're working on your APC please post your results & questions, if I can help without mistakes, who knows…
(yeah and just one resistor between all LEDs' cathodes and ground is Ok, but first get it to work !)

_________________
::U::N::S::C::H::N::E::L::L::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseawolf



Joined: Dec 21, 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 1:57 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK OK It is pin 1 Smile thanks I was so sad it wasn't working. On pin 12 it works greatly on pulse .Last question . Can i use the same pot for the two pins 12 and 1 or it won't work.Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umschmitt



Joined: Jun 29, 2011
Posts: 154
Location: brrlin
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great news ! I'm glad it works ! Now let the fun begin !
So you mean feeding both inputs with the sequencer ? Just connecting things as is, I fear that there would be interaction between the two timers inside the 556. It's not like there is a risk of breaking something expensive here, so try it ! (and I don't think you'll break anything, to be honest) I'm curious to know what would be the result. Maybe a bit of chaos… Otherwise, with two diodes placed at the 1 & 12 inputs, it should work.
(further experiment : try to feed pin 4 (reset) with LOUD signal. Brutal hardsync here. But remember that reset at 0v means silence at output ! I think the APC works with that pin unconnected. Mine works, that is. Oh and you can apply the same to pin 10 of course !)

_________________
::U::N::S::C::H::N::E::L::L::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use