electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Waldorf Blofeld questions!
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
psychic_driving



Joined: Sep 18, 2013
Posts: 13
Location: georgia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:47 am    Post subject: Waldorf Blofeld questions! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I got a Waldorf Blofeld desktop synth about a week ago and I absolutely love it. For what I want to do with a polyphonic, it's all I'll ever need. Regardless, I've got a couple of questions and figured I'd ask them here, hoping someone can help out.

1) If I'm not mistaken, it seems like Multi Mode allows you to stack sounds/presets. The strange thing though, is when I try to simply change some parameters, nothing happens unlike when I'm in "normal Play mode". For example, when I go into Multi Mode (Shift + Sound/Multi), select a Part (press and hold the Play button, while I choose part w/ the Selection dial), for example, Part 1. Once I'm in the "part" that I want to be in, all I have to do is press Play for the Multi Mode "preset" sounds. The issue is when I scroll through the sounds I hear NO CHANGE at all (only one type of synth sound for all presets), according the manual I should be able to hear the sounds. No matter what I chose I get NO change in sound at all, same sound and no ability to change that sound. :despair: The name of the Multi Mode presets are there but I don't hear their sounds. What am I doing wrong? I've read the manual but still nothing...not much to the manual anyways.

2) Is there a simple way of getting just one oscillator to sound? I understand that I could take a preset and break it down until there's nothing but one oscillator but was wondering if there's an easier way to do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psychic_driving



Joined: Sep 18, 2013
Posts: 13
Location: georgia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Waldorf Blofeld questions! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

psychic_driving wrote:
I got a Waldorf Blofeld desktop synth about a week ago and I absolutely love it. For what I want to do with a polyphonic, it's all I'll ever need. Regardless, I've got a couple of questions and figured I'd ask them here, hoping someone can help out.

1) If I'm not mistaken, it seems like Multi Mode allows you to stack sounds/presets. The strange thing though, is when I try to simply change some parameters, nothing happens unlike when I'm in "normal Play mode". For example, when I go into Multi Mode (Shift + Sound/Multi), select a Part (press and hold the Play button, while I choose part w/ the Selection dial), for example, Part 1. Once I'm in the "part" that I want to be in, all I have to do is press Play for the Multi Mode "preset" sounds. The issue is when I scroll through the sounds I hear NO CHANGE at all (only one type of synth sound for all presets), according the manual I should be able to hear the sounds. No matter what I chose I get NO change in sound at all, same sound and no ability to change that sound. :despair: The name of the Multi Mode presets are there but I don't hear their sounds. What am I doing wrong? I've read the manual but still nothing...not much to the manual anyways.

2) Is there a simple way of getting just one oscillator to sound? I understand that I could take a preset and break it down until there's nothing but one oscillator but was wondering if there's an easier way to do that.


Found out the answer so figured I'd share it here for others. To get a simple, 1 oscillator + filter (without all the modulations) do: Shift+Utility, scroll to Init Sound page, then you have to select Shift+Utility on that page again and it'll give you 1 oscillator and a filter and that's about it. Very easy, but it doesn't mention that in the manual or in any Google searches I came up with. Hope that helps someone! thumb up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use