electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » MusicFromOuterSpace.com designs by Ray Wilson
Component Values
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
amongstmyselves

Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 9:53 pm    Post subject: Component Values Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,

A newbie here. I've planned to create a monster modular / normalised synth using many of Ray's modules.

A question though. Ray is using odd value resistors eg. 499K. Do I need to be that accurate or can I go to the closest E24 value like 510K ?

Cheers,

Steve Roberts
Feifer

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah,, That would totally work. If you get that close it's not going to keep the thing from working, it will probably just change the range a little ( I think I saw that value on either end of a pot on the VCF ). But when you think about it 510 and 499 are only about 2% off. You probably won't even hear it. I'm not sure why Ray uses the weird ones.
amongstmyselves

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Cheers Feifer
ashleym

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I was only going to agree with the advice given.