electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Opening "Mac" .ptc2/.prf2 files on a PC?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
hyperstationjr



Joined: Jun 12, 2005
Posts: 88
Location: New Jersey/New York
G2 patch files: 24

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:57 am    Post subject: Opening "Mac" .ptc2/.prf2 files on a PC?
Subject description: I don't seem to get it...
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have a few thousand patches between Clavia, E-M and my own patches. Thing is, they are all loaded from my main DAW, a G4 Mac.

I've been using a laptop a LOT more lately, and liked the idea of doing whole performances with just a laptop and G2, so I loaded the editor software and the USB driver and I was able to create some cool stuff.

The problem started when I tried to load all of my Mac patches into the PC. NONE of them open. I tried adding extensions (.pch2 and .prf2) but nada. It says "there is not enough memory" or "file is corrupt".

What's the deal? The patches I created on the PC don't have any extensions, and the PC recognizes them as "Nord G2 patches".

Is this an FAQ I'm missing? I'm at work killing time, so I apologize if it is...

_________________
Studio:
Akai MPC2000xl.
Behringer BCR2000.
Clavia Nord Modular G1 Key* (considering to sell/trade)
Clavia Nord Modular G2 Engine.
Roland Alpha Juno1.
Yamaha QY70.

Want to sell/trade
Ensoniq ESQ1
Korg MS2000
Kurzweil K2000r V3
Yamaha TX802
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How did you move the files?
Is the mac running OS X or OS9

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hyperstationjr



Joined: Jun 12, 2005
Posts: 88
Location: New Jersey/New York
G2 patch files: 24

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My Mac is running OSX 10.2.8.
My Laptop is running Windows XP Home Edition sp1.

I transferred them using a Sony Memory Stick, using my Printer connected to my Mac, then used the build in reader on my Laptop.

I don't see how I could have corrupt the files in that way, but I'm open to suggestions.

As I said, I thought it was a simple extension problem (which ususally seems to be the issue when going between one app on both platforms) but no dice.

_________________
Studio:
Akai MPC2000xl.
Behringer BCR2000.
Clavia Nord Modular G1 Key* (considering to sell/trade)
Clavia Nord Modular G2 Engine.
Roland Alpha Juno1.
Yamaha QY70.

Want to sell/trade
Ensoniq ESQ1
Korg MS2000
Kurzweil K2000r V3
Yamaha TX802
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try this first:
Try zipping the folder with the files.. then move the zipped file to the pc and unzip the lot. Try using the built in "archive" function in OS X.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The archive thingie ( control + mouse click on object(s) ( folder or files ) will launch the bom_archive helper ( which is the OS X zipping engine ).
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sheridan



Joined: Jun 05, 2005
Posts: 473
Location: London, England
Audio files: 27
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Macs use two files for each... well, file. One is for the OS and shows up in Windows with a 0kb I think. It's the other file that you need to add the .pch2 and .prf2 suffixes... at least that's how it works for audio files.
_________________
transformer Sheridan

Hear music and Nord Modular G2 patches and find out music production tips at
http://www.nitetimeproductions.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Kinda true, but that applies only to forked files.. with a resource fork and a data fork. Very Happy
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sheridan



Joined: Jun 05, 2005
Posts: 473
Location: London, England
Audio files: 27
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

elektro80 wrote:
Kinda true, but that applies only to forked files.. with a resource fork and a data fork. Very Happy


If Hyper had tried using the resource file, that could explain the problem.

_________________
transformer Sheridan

Hear music and Nord Modular G2 patches and find out music production tips at
http://www.nitetimeproductions.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
hyperstationjr



Joined: Jun 12, 2005
Posts: 88
Location: New Jersey/New York
G2 patch files: 24

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah, I know what you're talking about, but no I used the actual files.

Those other files usually turn up as "_.patchname.ptc2" or something to that effect, with that "_" before the file name, and they are about 8kb or something in that range.

No I didn't use those.

The thing I don't get is, if Windows recognizes it's a G2 patch file, without regard for an extension, what is the problem?

_________________
Studio:
Akai MPC2000xl.
Behringer BCR2000.
Clavia Nord Modular G1 Key* (considering to sell/trade)
Clavia Nord Modular G2 Engine.
Roland Alpha Juno1.
Yamaha QY70.

Want to sell/trade
Ensoniq ESQ1
Korg MS2000
Kurzweil K2000r V3
Yamaha TX802
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
sheridan



Joined: Jun 05, 2005
Posts: 473
Location: London, England
Audio files: 27
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I know it's a pain, but is there any way you can load the patches into the G2 and then save them to a PC?
_________________
transformer Sheridan

Hear music and Nord Modular G2 patches and find out music production tips at
http://www.nitetimeproductions.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Stuff is known to go wrong with certain memorsticks and solidstate memory.
Did you try to zip the folder and then move the zipped file to the PC?

Alternatives would be turning on samba on the mac, using ftp or http. Zip files before you use the http transfer option

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use