electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Twyndyllyngs - Live in person Chez Mosc
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Nordlead 2x
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Meneer Vincent



Joined: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:39 am    Post subject: Nordlead 2x
Subject description: Midi volume
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi there,

I have a problem with the midisignal of the Nordlead 2 x
When I use the keyboard as a midiboard the output volume is low
I can get some more volume with the use of the Gain button but thats all.
To use a pianosound from a soundmodule or a software program its doesn't respons as it should be

When I use a cheap midiboard there is no problem it all
Well why not use the midiboard then. Because I don't want to much keyboards in my set-up

Is there someone who knows this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Whoops, a lot of Midi related questions today Smile

The volume of the sound is not controlled by the Lead, but by the module which is connected to the Midi Out (receiving the Midi) itself. Of course you can adjust the volume by using the gain (CC 7), which controls the Patch volume. Or did you send a 'Midi CC snapshot request' first, which has to be done by the receiving module, but why should you use it; because you don't use the Lead Program, only the Keys (Midi notes)?

Snappie? Wink

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Meneer Vincent



Joined: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks!

I understand but it is the board itself that isn't responding to the midinotes in
volume
When I connect a other (Midi)keyboard to the same set-up it respons well
So it must be something in the keyboard of the Nord
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There could be a different interpretation of Velocity...
What is the receiving module?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Meneer Vincent



Joined: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Velocity has certainly something to do with it cause of the volume
I think the (midi) keyboard function of the Nord is not responding well
I try to sort out this function

But afcourse it is a perfect synth...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meneer Vincent



Joined: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The soundstuf is a EMU soundmodule hardware but I also use LIVE Instruments software
It depends
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matrix



Joined: Aug 28, 2005
Posts: 81
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have the same experience with the Nord Lead 1. It's definitely due to velocity transmission. If you hit the keys hard enough the receiving module will sound as expected, but you shouldn't have to hit the keys so hard. I never took the time out to try and figure it out. The first place I would check are the velocity settings, if there are any. I'll need to check it out today.
_________________
cheers,
matrix
http://www.matrixsynth.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22425
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 216
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

People have been saying this about the Nord Modular G2 as well. That one has no settings for it, but one could make a patch there to correct it.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Meneer Vincent



Joined: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, I tried yesterday some things with the velocity but the result was the same
Maybe I just have to used it where it was made for; Tweaking sounds.
When there is a solution afcourse I like to know

Thanks everybody!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
... one could make a patch there to correct it.

About Velocity, I use Patches in the G2 to correct it, although I only use Clavia gear and between the modules there is no problem, of course. I use it in a layer situation, in which each Slot has to respond different to the Velocity information.

If you haven't got a G2 and you're working on PC, Blue Hell's tool MidiMod can provide these Patches, although you have to use your computer...
MidiMod is a software modular Midi generating tool, in which all Midi info can be changed. Although it's almost a long time available, it still does the trick. It's freeware, BTW.

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Meneer Vincent



Joined: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oké I'll have a check
I work with a Mac and look if this software is compatible

Thanks Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use