electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Metasonix
problem with tm1 metasonix
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sitarane



Joined: Feb 13, 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Réunion island

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:29 pm    Post subject: problem with tm1 metasonix
Subject description: problem1 over heat make the tm1 stop after 1hour, problem2 ringmod osc always in background
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hello


please help me Mister Metasonix i've got a problem with my new TM-1

I just receive my TM-1, i bought it with mesi.fr

problem number 1
================

I use for 2 hours and then it stoped. The power supply was dead and hot like a iron.
so i bought a new one, the local electronicien made it for me, a 12vac.
then i use it again for a little bit more than 1 hour and the tm-1 stopped working it seems to be too hot, i wait 20 minutes for the tm-1 to get less hot then i plug it and it come back to life but still stop when it feels too hot.

Is that normal doctor? too me no ! i can't think about doing something serious with it like going on stage or make a long musical research,all day long, and then long record session.

now, i have make some measure the new power supply is in fact 13.1volt AC, can this be the problem (i really hope that this is the only problem)


problem number 2
================

when all the knobs are close i still heard the "ring mod osc pitch" on the back ground

all knobs are close i mean :

level = 0 (fully ccw)

pulser stability = 0 (fully ccw)


beam tube screen = 0 (fully cw)
---------

ringmod osc pitch = 0 (fully ccw)

ringmod activate = 0 (fully ccw)


before that with the first power supply there was not this problem number 2

normaly the "ring mod osc pitch"is odible only when i open the "ring mode activate" knob

=========================

the TM-1 is really too good ,
i have wait so long too have it (i'm in Réunion island in indian ocean),
it cost me so much money (440 euro cause of the local taxes)

pleas help me!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20587
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:55 pm    Post subject: Re: problem with tm1 metasonix
Subject description: problem1 over heat make the tm1 stop after 1hour, problem2 ringmod osc always in background
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sitarane wrote:
(440 euro cause of the local taxes)


Sorry, I'm not the doctor ... just wanted to say hi & welcome & was wondering about the euros, they seem to be a long way from "home" Very Happy

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thermionicjunky



Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: 72
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The unit may have a thermal fuse. A remember a tm-5 user in europe having that problem. He was advised to change a resistor to prevent overheating. I haven't heard of this problem in the united states. The ringmod oscillator is usually audible. It was probably there before you had the power supply problem ... unless it is very loud. It helps to plug a cable into the ringmod in. You can also try to tune the oscillator to a pitch that will be masked by your input signal. This is much less of a problem when the output is gated with a vca. But you need to talk to Eric Barbour about the power problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitarane



Joined: Feb 13, 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Réunion island

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thank you for your request

ok for problem 2

but problem 1 still be there.

I really need some help from metasonix or Eric B. (& Rakim ?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kuliko



Joined: Sep 03, 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

Something similar happened to me. It was the thermal fuse inside the unit. Eric Barbour gave me the solution to this issue:

http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-13198.html

Hope it helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thermionicjunky



Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: 72
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That's what I was thinking of. My faulty memory told me it was a resistor. Please disregard that part. If you haven't already e-mailed Eric , do so. Go to the contact page on the metasonix website. He can tell you which part to get. If neither you nor someone else in your area can do it, Eric will. Please feel free to ask us tm-1 users about creating great sounds. After all this trouble you deserve to be happy with your tm-1!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sitarane



Joined: Feb 13, 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Réunion island

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thank you for the replies men.

i wrote to metasonix and eric barbour told me that it's just about too much voltage from my power supply ,yes his right.

I went to town in a music instrument and sono shop they measured the voltage of my power supply and they found 15 volte ! thats mad !

at home it's 13.1V in town 15V and in another town it's 12.1v

somebody told me i should do another one from a 9v dc

if only i could find a good power supply on the web but the ac power supply cannot be found anywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thermionicjunky



Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: 72
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try Jameco.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Metasonix
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use