electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
issues with Nord Lead 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Olsen



Joined: Jul 31, 2006
Posts: 48
Location: Brooklyn NY
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:11 am    Post subject:  issues with Nord Lead 3
Subject description: it does not respond to midi arpeggio or knobs movements
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello
i got a NL3 last week after selling a kawai K5000S, yes i changed it for a NL3.
What i miss from the K5000 is no it's sounds but its midi very easy implementation; whatever you tweak in the K5000 responds beautifully in your software, external module, other synth or coffee maker,it has very good midi response, but i dont like the sounds of the K5000 and i hate its basic voice; on the other hand the NL3 is totally the opposite, i love its voice and sounds but i found is very revel for being a midi controller.
In global channel you can control sustain, pitch and modulation wheel like a piece of cake but for tweaking knods and play arpegios is totally bitch and i suspect that maybe it does not control anything. I use Logic 7 for recordings and host of Absynth 4 and atmosphere, also Akoustik piano, i make jazz, ambient a and electronica, so i really need an arpegiator and a knod tweaker
any idea/opinion/tip or suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In the Manual (download able on www.clavia.se) on page 143 to 146 is the list on which Midi CC what is transmitted. The parameters will be send on the channel in which the Slot is set, so if the Midi channel isn't Global in the Slot itself, it won't work... Wheel, Stick and pedals are always Global.

Check these parameter CC's with the settings of the other components, like Logic, etc.

Wout

BTW the NordLead3 doesn't send Arpeggio Midi Notes on/off out...
The NL2 does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tonyggg



Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 33
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I share your frustration.
Check out my earlier posts at http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-15851.html

_________________
http://www.newmusiccanada.com/genres/artist.cfm?Band_Id=10574
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Tony,

On my NordLead3 all knobs are sending Midi, even when the parameter isn't active in the Patch itself! (In Sound mode and Saw wave form the Shapes are not in use, like the MultiFilter mode)

I think the trouble here is the wrong setting of the Midi Channel.

Still, it's not nice the wonderful arpeggiator has no Midi out Sad

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Olsen



Joined: Jul 31, 2006
Posts: 48
Location: Brooklyn NY
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:34 am    Post subject: Arpeggio Data, yes or not?
Subject description: Transmits or non transmits.....?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The Manual mentions some midi functions for the arpeggiator, its says is transmitted through midi controller #47, i didn't find what channel transmit arpeggio data; channels are not especified, only controllers, and i'm sorry but i have no idea what a controller is or where you set its number, i always have worked with midi channels no controllers...
But any ways, there's seems to be no hopes for arpegiatte the sounds of other keyboards or virtual instruments via NL3, that's why i don't understand why it is mentioned in the manual.....

Any suggestions about a board capable of arpeggiate others via global midi?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 10:57 am    Post subject: Re: Arpeggio Data, yes or not?
Subject description: Transmits or non transmits.....?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Olsen wrote:
Any suggestions about a board capable of arpeggiate others via global midi?

NordLead2 or better the G2! Arpeggiator and sequencers together though Midi Out to Notes and Midi CC's!

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Olsen



Joined: Jul 31, 2006
Posts: 48
Location: Brooklyn NY
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:57 pm    Post subject:  NL3 no arp out.
Subject description: Nrdlead3 retromidi.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you guys.I'll try to a NL2 and see what happen, i use a lot the arp and the sus pedal, i do not have a band, that's why.

Is funny, the NL3 is so cool that it does not need to have arpeggio midi out.
Endogamic!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So I strongly advice a G2 or Engine. It is one of the most flexible synths.

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use