electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Nord Lead one stereo chanel does not sound...
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Olsen



Joined: Jul 31, 2006
Posts: 48
Location: Brooklyn NY
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:27 am    Post subject:  Nord Lead one stereo chanel does not sound...
Subject description: Audio Out Puts not working, yes, i did check that the setting is correct.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

None of the outputs is working as two stereo channels, only the left otput of both pairs works, you know, ab and cd; only a and c works but they are the same channel.
I pluged the headphones output to my mixer for recording two stereo channels to two tracks, only one track is recorded, i did try to listen with the headphones, it works fine. What is this...
I'm selling the NL3 and buying NL2, i had enough of misbehavior.It is making me crazy. This keyboards cost a fortune, they could work according to the price you pay, right?

I'n not quite shure of being clear: my NL3 is not working in stereo, only one channel is outputting sound, even throug the headphones output ...
however the headphones play the sound in stereo...



Help, Help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The mixing desk is set right?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21959
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Nord Lead one stereo chanel does not sound...
Subject description: Audio Out Puts not working, yes, i did check that the setting is correct.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Olsen wrote:
even throug the headphones output ...
however the headphones play the sound in stereo...



Help, Help!


A jack stereo output uses a TRS plug ( a stereo jack ). Plugging in a mono jack connector and then into a mixer won´t work too good. Plugging in a TRS ( from the ehadphone output ) into a balanced line input on a mixer won´t quite do either. There are however stereo TRS breakout cables you can use. Or you could solder your own.



Trivia:
The stereo jack / TRS thingie is a bit of a mess for newbees. There is a thing called balanced signal.. and it is pretty common to use TRS jack cables for this too.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Olsen



Joined: Jul 31, 2006
Posts: 48
Location: Brooklyn NY
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wout:
Yes, the mixing desk is set right.

Electro 80:

I use two mono instrument cable (monster) to output the sound of all my synths to the mixer with no problem; well, sometimes the Alesis QS8 sucks one of the outputs and don't work, then all of a sudden works... The EMU 6PK always works in stereo so if i output the sound by the headphone jack is because of laziness or maybe because of a shorter couple of cables, but most of my outputs from keyboards are stereo balanced cables with Y cables in each extreme and so they go from keyboard to mixer, that is how i record keyboards and synths and also computer instruments, yes i play virtual instruments from the laptop and i record them in my 16 tracks,
unless i have no more chance that record into the computer when i'm in a rush or out of my studio somewhere else....

The mixing desk of the NL3 is set right and as i have the three keyboards interconected via midi and midi thru i didn't check the recording tracks until a moment after recording the tracks, but i just saw the NL3 track in the mixer and it was clipping and then i realised that only one track was working the other track was dead...

I think one of the channels is out for lunch, is this possible? i mean do you think i have to take The NL3 to the doctor?
The QS8 works fine now, but when i run it through the racks one of the channels always fails. then i have to run it through headphone jacks but it clipps inmediatly because of the different impedance, i guess...

Thank you guys for your help. let me know what you think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4521
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If the...

cables are alright...
panning of the mixing desk are set right (left and right to two channels)...
panning of the sequencer tracks are set right...
NL3 [Synth > Audio routing > S1 or S2] are set right...

and there is still no stereo at the outputs...

I would bring it to the doctor.

Wout

BTW you are telling about a lot of troubles in your set up, so I would check all things very precise!!! The doctor costs money...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use