electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
expansion question
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:41 am    Post subject: expansion question
Subject description: If I expand my g2 does it mean....
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If I expand my g2 (engine) does it mean I can then build twice as large monosynths or does it mean i will just always have more polyphony (e.g. if used all dsp power 2 voices)?

Cheers

R.

_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 608

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You wont get more modules into a single slot, but you will be able to fill all eight slots to 100%.

Unexpanded, you run out of dsp/mem if you fill four of the eight available slots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20525
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A patch has two sections, voice and FX. Each section can not be larger than 100%, where 100% corresponds to maximum usage of one DSP chip (or it's memory). So a mono patch can never go over 200%, no matter if expansion is present or not.

When havin one 200% patch loaded (only one slot being active and the other being disabled) the patch would have a maximum voice count of 3 on an unexpanded G2 where that number would be 7 for the expanded case. So here the polyphony is expanded.

However when the internal busses and/or the internal MIDI messaging is used it is possible to make patches that cooperate. Suppose you have a couple od cooperating 200% patches. On an unexpanded G2 you could use two such patches and on an expanded G2 you could use four.

A set of cooperating patches could be consedered to be a sort of a super patch. For the unexpanded system a super patch could be 400% and for an expanded system it could be 800%.

So it depends a bit on how you look at it, but I think Clavia markets the thing as a polyphony expander.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So if I get the expansion I can potentially make 4 mono, (1 in each slot) 200% patches (100% in poly area and 100% in mono) where as unexpanded I am limited to just 2 mono, 200% patches.

So really it is expanding the polyphony rather than the actual raw mono power, altho, as you say Blue, if you use it in the right way you can still achieve the same increase in raw power thru bussing between slots (in theory at least).

Thanks

R.

_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GovernorSilver



Joined: Apr 26, 2004
Posts: 1334
Location: Washington DC Metro
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

g2ian wrote:
You wont get more modules into a single slot, but you will be able to fill all eight slots to 100%.

Unexpanded, you run out of dsp/mem if you fill four of the eight available slots.


I'm a little confused. Does the expansion board add 4 slots?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fozzie



Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 875
Location: Near Wageningen, the Netherlands
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No, there are 4x2 slots in all G2s, expanded or unexpanded. That is 4 slots with each a voice and and FX area. However, in each of these 8 area's you can use up to 100% of memory or cpu. With an unexpanded G2 you can patch up to a grand total of 400% (all 4x2 slot percentages added together), with an expanded one up to 800%. So still, in an unexpanded G2 you can patch 50% patches in all eight areas, resulting in a total load of 400%.

Maybe this 'explanation' helps. This topic is often confusing for (new) users.

_________________
Spinning at ~0.0000115740740741 Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 608

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

GovernorSilver wrote:
g2ian wrote:
You wont get more modules into a single slot, but you will be able to fill all eight slots to 100%.

Unexpanded, you run out of dsp/mem if you fill four of the eight available slots.


I'm a little confused. Does the expansion board add 4 slots?


Sorry, I meant 8 areas. When will I learn not to post at 5:30AM Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disrupt_the_imc



Joined: Nov 08, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Northern California

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So by eight slots that means 4 voice slots & 4 effect slots?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20525
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

disrupt_the_imc wrote:
So by eight slots that means 4 voice slots & 4 effect slots?


4 slots (A..D), 8 areas, each slot having a voice and an FX area.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use