electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
PCMCIA Memory Card
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Plus 1



Joined: May 07, 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 7:50 pm    Post subject: PCMCIA Memory Card
Subject description: Can i use type 2 cards?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello All!!!

I recently purchased one of these weapons Cool . I would like to purchase a PCMCIA memory card.

The manual states that the card must be a 'Type 1' SRAM with 256k - 2M of memory. These cards are about 15 years old and fucking rare!!!

Does anyone know weather a type 2 card can be used with the A6? this card would be alot easier to source!! Very Happy

Or if any of u crazy andro frinkaheadrons have any better ideas.... i'd love to hear them!!!


Thank you muchly Laughing


Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 689
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

as far as i know, you'll indeed have to go for the "analog"type
better save than sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rh2y



Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 206
Location: Pittsburgh, USA
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I found the cards at thomann:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/thomann_pcmciacard_sram_2mb.htm

Although Envoy Data doesn't make any claims about Andromeda compatibility, these cards should be the same. Maybe someone would like to check one out to be sure:

http://www.envoydata.com/shopping/display_products.php?catid=13


I recently went thru all this while trying to find a flash card for
my QS6, and found a good deal on QS6 cards at Envoy Data.

http://www.envoydata.com/
[[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dougt



Joined: Jun 16, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have a brand new 2MB SRAM card on ebay -

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140134486859

Last edited by dougt on Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AnaBliss



Joined: Jun 26, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: NY

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:44 am    Post subject: Where to buy PCMCIA SRAM for A6
Subject description: Pretec Type1 2MB SRAM (non-attribute)
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I purchased Pretec brand 2MB Type1 SRAM (non-attribute) RAM cards for my A6 from Amtron Technology, Inc. Amtron is in California USA; I suspect they might be willing to ship internationally, but did not ask. Their part number is SN5002. Cards are new, and under warranty. The price was $119.95 plus shipping. It is also possible to reach these guys by phone, and they are helpful (I got an excellent english speaker when I asked for Tech Support). Links follow.

http://www.amtron.com
sales@amtron.com

*Note* I contacted Alesis Tech Support and verified via email and follow-up phone call that the A6 uses "NON-ATTRIBUTE" cards. Attribute RAM is a small (about 8k, I think) portion of the card which the host device uses to identify the capacity of the RAM. Again, buy the cards which *do not have* this "attribute RAM", even though the vendor may tell you the opposite. They just sell the PCMCIA Cards, and do not know any specifics about the A6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougt



Joined: Jun 16, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Where to buy PCMCIA SRAM for A6
Subject description: Pretec Type1 2MB SRAM (non-attribute)
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Or you could buy mine which work perfectly for half the price from the above ebay link... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dougt



Joined: Jun 16, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Last one -

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140136570133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use