electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
not transmitting any sysex data...
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
danbaygo



Joined: Oct 12, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:12 am    Post subject: not transmitting any sysex data... Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, just received new Andromeda,all good! however there appears to be no sysex data being transmitted from any of the knobs. Keys/pitch wheel/modulation wheel/ribbon transmitting & receiving fine. TXMODE is on local/midi. OS is 01.40.12 Also RXMODE seems to be missing on the global page. Any help most appreciated...D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20685
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 156
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome D, I hope one of the experts will step in.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
danbaygo



Joined: Oct 12, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Blue Hell, all I want to do (initially) is record & playback filter sweeps etc as midi....D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundwave106



Joined: Nov 24, 2004
Posts: 326
Location: Elmo's Mud Wrestling Club
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don't believe the Andromeda knobs transmits Sysex data, it transmits NRPN data.

NRPNs are an abbreviation for MIDI "non-registered parameters". Basically, it's very similar to a MIDI controller code -- however, the values are 14 bit. (There's also registered parameters (RPNs), parameters the MIDI specification has defined, but there's not to many of these predefined.)

That's different from Sysex, so if you are looking exclusively for that you won't find it. Smile Cakewalk has an article here that can perhaps help you describe what to expect... basically a sequence of four CC values.

Most modern sequencers should handle NRPNs without much effort, I would think?[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
danbaygo



Joined: Oct 12, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I see what you are saying, soundwave106 you're right it wouldn't be sysex. The problem i'm having is there is no data of any kind being outputted from the knobs. I'm wondering if there is a parameter somewhere that's not turned on or the OS is an old version (i'm on 1.40.12). I'm hooked up to Logic and can record and playback notes/pitch wheel/ribbon etc without any problem. (also seeing what's happening in the midi monitor window...nothing from knobs..) Thanks for your help, D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundwave106



Joined: Nov 24, 2004
Posts: 326
Location: Elmo's Mud Wrestling Club
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

danbaygo wrote:
I see what you are saying, soundwave106 you're right it wouldn't be sysex. The problem i'm having is there is no data of any kind being outputted from the knobs. I'm wondering if there is a parameter somewhere that's not turned on or the OS is an old version (i'm on 1.40.12). I'm hooked up to Logic and can record and playback notes/pitch wheel/ribbon etc without any problem. (also seeing what's happening in the midi monitor window...nothing from knobs..) Thanks for your help, D.


1.040.12 is the latest OS. TXMODE should turn the NRPNs on when it is set to MIDI or LOCMIDI, so I'm a bit surprised you can't see anything. Maybe the TXTHIN parameter (that controls the density of knob data) can be turned so low that the data coming out doesn't look like anything to a sequencer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
danbaygo



Joined: Oct 12, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Soundwave 106 I got the NRPN's working, thanks for your help. D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use