electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Macbook wirelesss speed
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:59 am    Post subject: Macbook wirelesss speed
Subject description: Should it be this slow.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Guys,

I am getting about 200KB/sec over wireless, wired I get the normal 10-11MB/sec.

I would expect to at least see 2MB/sec over wireless, is this something Macbooks suffer from?

Cheers

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I´ve never seen anything that slow. The MBs and MBPs are just fine when using the built-in wireless cards. Is this on your own private network?
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

Yep private network, about 1 metre away from router which is a NetGear DG834N, signal strength on the mac is at full.

I have looked into it a bit more, FTP speed is very fast over wireless:

ftp: 163613696 bytes sent in 18.53Seconds 8829.19Kbytes/sec.

This speed made me check that the ethernet cable wasn't plugged in!

So the issue I am getting is when you use OSX copy.

I am carrying on investigating

Cheers

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK.. OS X copy.. so you are copying stuff from another mac or pc on a shared volume??

I´ve pretty much ditched non Apple wireless basestations here. The Apple basestations are reasonably good, I get updates to the base station software/firmware from one source and the compatibility is really quite good. I don´t know much about Netgear stuff, some of the products I´ve used have been good and others not so good. Does the basestation device have some sort of port management/firewall?

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well I am pretty confused now!

OSX copy is now manageing 6-7MB/sec over wireless, I didn't change anything at all.

I do get a huge cpu hit though, kernal_task is sitting between 50% and 70% which seems a little high for a network copy!

I will keep an eye on it, thanks for your help.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, I dunno... from which machine are you actually copying stuff?

A mac and which OS version? How is it connected and which type of filesharing?

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you copy a huuuuuger number of small files you will see a nasty drop in speed. In those cases I will always use tools that stream the files as one.. or zip or rar the folders and then copy the compressed version to another machine.
Copy across a LAN of some medium sized to big files is mostly unproblematic. OS X is pretty stable and I´ve seen few problems. There can be certain issues if the AFP settings on the server are weird.. but that is probably not the case here.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah FWIW, my wireless router is a cheapo unit made by ASUS- and I get this shit all the time. I don't know what it's like with an Apple router, maybe there's some protocol built into Apple products? But the wireless at the university is a lot better- despite it still being in the 'b' & 'g' category.
_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

AFP is using the AFP protocol, and there just might that cheap PC oriented routers/base stations for some mindless reason will cap AFP speeds.
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

again, Andy fwiw, I've had nothing but problems with Netgear stuff and Macs. The router before was a netgear. It worked fine with Windows, but hated my previous Mac, so it had to go. Perhaps it's another Microsoft partnership conspiracy ?? Laughing

This ASUS one is pretty good- especially with Intel, but then asus make decent Intel based motherboards too. Their internet service is bobbins though Sad

_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Guys,

It seems to be going really well now so Christ knows what was going on before.

I have been really impressed with this NetGear router though, this is the first issue I have seen. We have a couple of other laptops, Wi FI Printer, a Playstation 3 and a Nintendo Wii useing it with no issues.

I will keep an eye on it.

Cheers

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3730
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 275
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I use a D-Link "Gamer Lounge" (or something), and I have issues sometimes with the wireless connection dropping out from my MacBook Pro. There is one spot that used to be OK, but then it started to act up constantly, so I plugged in an ethernet cable instead. That spot is close to the router (2 meters), but there is a thick brick wall in the way, so I figured it was due to that, even though there is a doorway less than half a metre off the line between the router and the Mac.

Can other WLans nearby cause these kinds of disruptions? There are loads in my block of flats...

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

yes that's true. There are 3 routers on our Avenue (when I say 'avenue' I'm not talking about those American-style 'avenue's btw Laughing ). Actually mine isn't security locked- it's open (yes I knew that one would send a few shock waves!!). As a matter of fact, one day there were 5 or 6 people all on our line together, so I logged into the router and one of them was playing on some sort of games console Shocked So after that, I've just 'allowed' certain people on and not others.

btw, my bank balance and PayPal accounts are still kosher - so much then for that bloke in the bushes with their laptop then......? Rolling Eyes

btw, there is a brick wall between me and the asus- but it's only about 4 inches wide Confused

_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20620
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Antimon wrote:
Can other WLans nearby cause these kinds of disruptions? There are loads in my block of flats...


Yes very well. For the .g variety it is advised to have a five or six channel distance between nearby WLAN routers - near impossible in an apartment building (it would mean (for .g again) that effectively only channels 1, 6 and 11 should be used when other routers are around, for all parties involved).

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

what about the 'n' variety?
_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20620
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

v-un-v wrote:
what about the 'n' variety?


dunno, never looked it up, I don't have any n stuff except for the wlan router itself (an apple thingie btw Very Happy ).

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Same there, a very high density of base stations will lead to a mess and reduced speed.

Depending on the gear, you could see sets of basestations and clients set to handle stations on "auto" to go into change and seek modes. It´s kinda fun to see say 40 sets of basestatioons/clients all go into the "find a free channel" stupor at the same time.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

v-un-v wrote:
what about the 'n' variety?


The netgear I have here is 'n' as well as the Macbook, this is why I can see 8MB/sec over wireless, around 80Mbit/sec which isn't too bad.

The router is set at 270Mbit/sec but I don't know what the max on the mac is.

Cheers

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use