electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Nord Rack 3 power supply
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 768
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:56 pm    Post subject: Nord Rack 3 power supply Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yesterday I bought a second hand Nord Rack 3 from the USA (at last!). I would like to know if the Nord Rack 3 power supply will work in Europe, or I will have to use a converter.

I remember someone saying that the power supply can be switched to 110v/220v with an internal switch. Can someone confirm this?

Thanks!

_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4504
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Indeed, just a simple switch, on the Power Supply board, only it reads 115/230 V Smile

AND

don't forget to change the fuse too!!!

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 768
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you very much Wout!

Now I'm worried about the fuse... I'm null at electronics, which fuse type will I have to buy??

_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4504
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Mine reads E 250V - 125 mA

Maybe Jan (Blue Hell) has some additions? (slow and other things)

Wout

Last edited by Wout Blommers on Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20281
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wout Blommers wrote:
Maybe Jan (Blue Hell) has some additions? (slow and other things)


Nope, just slow Very Happy

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4504
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Which implies there are also fast fuses?
Any reasons for that?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20281
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well fast one will blow fast and a slow one will blow slow, as you might have guessed ... Laughing

When you have a fast one it will blow pretty quickly on a momentary overload, a bit of a nervous thing which can be useful. But when used in a power supply it will probably blow the very instant you turn the device on as some extra current is needed to power the thing up.

That current will settle to the normal value after a short while and the slow blow fuse will wait for that and then if the current is still too high it will blow, but not on the rush-in current.

Now you could take a fast one with a higher current rating but then when there is an overload condition it might not blow anymore.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4504
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks, Jan.
I know something more now.

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 768
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you again for the help, soon my new NL3 will arrive Smile

I'm not sure if I will sell my NL2X though...

_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
machim



Joined: Nov 26, 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Stuttgart/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

can you please confirm, the solution you described here
will also work with the Nord Lead 3 Keyboard version?
So I need a 250V - 125mA slow blow fuse and switch
the power supply switch to 230V. Do I need to open
the unit for this?

I am waiting for my NL3 from the US which will arrive
in the next days.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20281
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome machim

Probably the same yes.

You'll have to open the synth indeed. Couple of screws on the back, two on the sides (there are four, two on each side, but the ones with the nylon washers stay in, the other two go out) and one at the bottom, something like that anyway.

There should be a plate at the back of the synth indicating what the current fuse value is in mA, divide that value by two for a 230V configuration. Probably it says 250 mA and then you have to buy a 125 mA one. (those seem to be the values for all Clavia gear Very Happy ) .

And slow blow or (T type) is correct, this will also be indicated on the back of the synth BTW.

When the plate is not present just go for 125 mA.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 768
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Finally my new USA Nord Rack 3 has arrived!

I switched the power supplyto 230v, and it works with the original fuse, although I understand that it won't protect it.

So, I want to buy the right fuse for Europe. I checked the one that came with the Nord and it says:

3/10A 250V 313

I expected other numbers, so I don't know what to buy now :/

_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4504
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dorremifasol wrote:
3/10A 250V 313
Jan, what does it mean? Is the value 0.3 A at 250 V? Certainly much more then 0.125 A. At 110 V it means 0.6 A then? Somebody has some nerves... Or blew his fuse once and had only this one as a spare?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20281
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don't know what it means, what does the type or power supply info plate at the back of the synth say about the fuse?
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 768
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

the plate says:

115v~
300mA Slow Blow

_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20281
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dorremifasol wrote:
the plate says:

115v~
300mA Slow Blow


Ok, then 3/10A means 0.3A I guess, or 300 mA, so get a a 150 mA slow blow (T type) for the 230V mode.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dorremifasol



Joined: Sep 28, 2006
Posts: 768
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Audio files: 7
G2 patch files: 47

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great! My new Nord and I thank you very much, Jan Very Happy
_________________
Cheers,
Albert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4504
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I hope Barcelona does the same Wink Smile

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use