electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
recording "skipping" in adobe audition 1.5
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
choklitlove



Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: Indiana
Audio files: 17

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:56 pm    Post subject: recording "skipping" in adobe audition 1.5
Subject description: not limited to audition either...
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i bought a new computer with a great processor and 4G of ram in hopes to forever avoid simple problems like this. i have the system's page file disabled, having the system write everything directly to the RAM, which should make it even faster. there must be something missing though...

when recording, the ram meter stays full, but the waveform that audition draws starts to get behind. then when you playback what you recorded, it cut out chunks of what you played. like a "skip". i am using a USB mixer with windows' built-in asio drivers.

this is not a problem that is only with audition. when i try to capture a video from a camera in windows movie maker with a usb capture device, i have lag problems with it as well.

these two programs with identical settings and hardware worked perfectly on another computer with less than 2G of RAM.

any ideas? the simplest ideas are welcome because i'm at a total loss. thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20534
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

xp or vista?

when yo press ctrl+alt+del you'll get the task manager (or close to it) telling you about memory & processor usage as well as about what runs and what is loaded, anything that eats processor time, or memory?

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
choklitlove



Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: Indiana
Audio files: 17

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

XP. i can't check right now for a detailed reply, but i checked earlier and nothing to speak of shows in task manager. as soon as i can, i'll check again with more details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20534
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Dual core?

Not that I know any answers, just trying to zoom in.

A recent PC ... so ... it was sold with Vista maybe waith an XP upgrade package?

Maybe sounds like a driver problem ... usb related maybe ... you do not have these problems with the internal (motherboard) sound card?

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
choklitlove



Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: Indiana
Audio files: 17

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

core 2 duo CPU
T8300 @ 2.40GHz
790 MHz, 3.49 GB of RAM

i ordered it with XP, not and downgrade package or anything that i know of. i attempted to upgrade the drivers on the intel usb ports, but evidently i already had the latest. and i haven't tested recording much with the soundcard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
choklitlove



Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: Indiana
Audio files: 17

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

still haven't figured this out. i posted on an audition board as well, but no answers. i did find that it works fine recording with the soundcard.

but that's not good enough anymore...


i might just sell the mixer and get a firewire one. see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A driver problem? Could be.

I have no idea what is going on. As for recording to ram, you should be able to record like 8 tracks to your HD with no problems at all. You could do that 15 years ago on what is now antique gear. This doesn´t compute.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
choklitlove



Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: Indiana
Audio files: 17

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i know. it's driving me nuts. and i'm not computer stupid, so i checked everything i could think of. none of it makes sense. the people on the audition board suggested it might be a graphics card problem. i posted all info here:
[url]
http://www.audiomastersforum.net/amforum/forums.html?PHPSESSID=a6d9e170224a5d303814c69758210c5b&topic=6866.0[/url]


i got no idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20534
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, time for some wild ideas ...

Maybe it is a dual core problem?

like in : http://support.microsoft.com/kb/896256

Some Dells seem to have bios support for turning on/off dual core support, which could be a way to pinpoint problems with that: http://www.computing.net/answers/cpus/dual-core-on-or-off/14570.html - this is not your model though, but maybe it works like it.

Dell seems to have some bios trouble with the inspiron 1520 freezing, look here.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Squonk



Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Kashiba, Japan

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:36 pm    Post subject: Re: recording "skipping" in adobe audition 1.5
Subject description: not limited to audition either...
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try changing the recorder buffer size and the number of recording buffers. The help portion in the setting page isn't a great help, but it looks like whether you go up or down on these values depends on your computer. I went down on the number of recording buffers and still had the problem. I then went up to 15 buffers and increased the size to 4 seconds and at least the test recording had no problems.

choklitlove wrote:
i bought a new computer with a great processor and 4G of ram in hopes to forever avoid simple problems like this. i have the system's page file disabled, having the system write everything directly to the RAM, which should make it even faster. there must be something missing though...

when recording, the ram meter stays full, but the waveform that audition draws starts to get behind. then when you playback what you recorded, it cut out chunks of what you played. like a "skip". i am using a USB mixer with windows' built-in asio drivers.

this is not a problem that is only with audition. when i try to capture a video from a camera in windows movie maker with a usb capture device, i have lag problems with it as well.

these two programs with identical settings and hardware worked perfectly on another computer with less than 2G of RAM.

any ideas? the simplest ideas are welcome because i'm at a total loss. thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Squonk



Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Kashiba, Japan

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:04 am    Post subject: Re: recording "skipping" in adobe audition 1.5
Subject description: not limited to audition either...
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Okay, I spoke too quickly. The advice I gave you was for multi-track, which may or may not help you. It 'seemed' to have helped me. But my use is turning LPs into CDs and the problem came back. Weird. Not consistent and will just pop up at different times. But NOW I have it working. Here's what I did...

1- Turned off the internet connection, firewall and anything else not needed. Don't know how important this was, just that doing only this did NOT fix the problem before.

2-Went into Settings/System and set...
Total Buffer Size to 4 seconds and with 20 Buffers
EV Preview Buffer of 400 ms
Cache Size of 125000 k bytes

No more problems. Well, at least with one side of an LP recorded. One that I had recorded about 5 times, each time with 2 or more yips in it. This one nice and clean.

Hope it works for you.

Lastly, the internet didn't prove useful in finding this solution. Neither did Audition's help file. The info was found when you clicked the Help button on the actual Settings dialog box.

choklitlove wrote:


when recording, the ram meter stays full, but the waveform that audition draws starts to get behind. then when you playback what you recorded, it cut out chunks of what you played. like a "skip". i am using a USB mixer with windows' built-in asio drivers.

any ideas? the simplest ideas are welcome because i'm at a total loss. thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gordonjay



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 31
Location: asheville

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 12:00 pm    Post subject: Re: recording "skipping" in adobe audition 1.5
Subject description: not limited to audition either...
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

choklitlove wrote:
when recording, the ram meter stays full, but the waveform that audition draws starts to get behind. then when you playback what you recorded, it cut out chunks of what you played. like a "skip". i am using a USB mixer with windows' built-in asio drivers.


oh i remember those days. the RAM meter.

a lot of the best things have already been said, but is it really true that windows included ASIO drivers? my version doesn't have any. anyways, i would not trust them. if you are unfamiliar with asio4all i recommend you try it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My gut reaction on a "new" system is motherboard drivers.
New computers are often setup using XP alone, when they really need to have up to date, system specific motherboard drivers installed.
They impact USB functionality and hard drive access more than anything.
There's also a chance that the "dual core optimiser" could help.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use