electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
HD working with Mac OS9 and OSX
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
JoeLouis



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Miami, Fl USA

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 3:37 pm    Post subject: HD working with Mac OS9 and OSX
Subject description: I need a new HD to work with both Mac OS9 and OSX
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi everyone, I have a dual Mac G4 with both OS9 and OSX installed
I work with some programs in OS9 and others in OSX.
I'm lookin' for a new hard drive. I've saw one, that runs in OSX (Lacie D2 Quadra 500GB).
If I plug it to my Mac, does it mean that, when I work in OS9, I won't be able to use the hard drive?
Thanx for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21969
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

See options in the Disk Utility application. This is just a question of formatting and disk drivers. You´ll figure it out. Very Happy
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CJ Miller



Joined: Jan 07, 2007
Posts: 371
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:27 pm    Post subject: Re: HD working with Mac OS9 and OSX
Subject description: I need a new HD to work with both Mac OS9 and OSX
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

JoeLouis wrote:
Hi everyone, I have a dual Mac G4 with both OS9 and OSX installed
I work with some programs in OS9 and others in OSX.
I'm lookin' for a new hard drive. I've saw one, that runs in OSX (Lacie D2 Quadra 500GB).
If I plug it to my Mac, does it mean that, when I work in OS9, I won't be able to use the hard drive?
Thanx for your help


Keep in mind that since OS9 is "dead" to most people - unsupported - nobody is going to claim compatability or support for it anymore. However this is not a problem.

Since it is a dual G4 this means that you are using an IDE bus. Basically, any IDE drive should work. Usual speeds are 33, 66, 100, and 133. My MDD for example has, if I recall, 1x33, 1x66, and 1x100.

All you have to do is partition the disk with OS9 drivers on it. Put the drive in and check Disk Utility. Look for your new drive, and get info about it. It'll say if it has OS9 drivers. If it doesn't, just erase it. partition it with "HFS+ journalled" and "OS9 drivers" checked off.

Only other things to look out for? Older G4 systems might fuss about large drives. For example I'd be surprised if a dual G4 550MHz box's IDE controller could see all of a 500GB drive, but up to 100GB should be fine. The later your G4, the better the compatability will be. If you have an older G4 and need huge drives you can either find a patch or get a PCI card for IDE or SATA which probably won't cost much, this way you can get a more modern disk controller.

I am typing this from my G4 now, and it has installed:
Maxtor 6Y120P0 114.5 GB
Seagate ST3500630A 465.76 GB
Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-115D
IBM IC3L120AVV207-1 114.5 GB
WDC WD1200JB-00DUA3 111.79 GB

I screwed myself because the IBM drive was first, and I didn't remember to install OS9 drivers. Instead my OS9 stuff is on the WDC drive. It works, but takes longer to switch between systems. The lesson is to remember to install your OS9 drivers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use