electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
How do I seed correctly?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
torsig1967



Joined: Mar 29, 2006
Posts: 162
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:29 am    Post subject: How do I seed correctly? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Which is the most economical way to correctly seed the clocked random generators?

I want to get get a different value on the seed input every time I load the patch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 608

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

As far as I know, you get a random seed on patch load if you don't connect anything to the seed input. If you want a repeatable set of values, you have to patch a constant value and use the reset input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
torsig1967



Joined: Mar 29, 2006
Posts: 162
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

g2ian wrote:
As far as I know, you get a random seed on patch load if you don't connect anything to the seed input. If you want a repeatable set of values, you have to patch a constant value and use the reset input.


OK, thanks. I thought it was the other way round.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roland Kuit



Joined: Sep 29, 2003
Posts: 1091
Location: The Netherlands/Sweden
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 127

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

pattern seed. cheers:) but with no changes when you load the patch.


random trig example 114.pch2
 Description:
pattern seed example

Download
 Filename:  random trig example 114.pch2
 Filesize:  2.16 KB
 Downloaded:  634 Time(s)


_________________
Roland Kuit
----------------------------
composer|research|synthesis|sound design|lecturer
http://rolandkuit.com/

Last edited by Roland Kuit on Sat Jun 28, 2008 3:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Roland Kuit



Joined: Sep 29, 2003
Posts: 1091
Location: The Netherlands/Sweden
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 127

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

more complicated one


random trig example 115.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  random trig example 115.pch2
 Filesize:  4.05 KB
 Downloaded:  700 Time(s)


_________________
Roland Kuit
----------------------------
composer|research|synthesis|sound design|lecturer
http://rolandkuit.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

g2ian wrote:
As far as I know, you get a random seed on patch load if you don't connect anything to the seed input. If you want a repeatable set of values, you have to patch a constant value and use the reset input.


Didn't know that ... experimented a bit and it works Cool

When you want it to give you a single random value that's different at each startup you'll need a single clock pulse on the random module from f.i. a constant module set to a value > 0. Without any clocks the startup value will be the same at each startup.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wouldn't that still give you the same result every time at G2 startup if the patch in question is auto-loaded at that point?

I think the one source of real randomness you have is resistor-noise from the ADC's. I'd seed based on that, a short while (few ms should do it) after patch-load, the wait is to hopefully get rid of any bias that might be there caused by voltage spikes/fluctuations that might be occurring at startup-up.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use