electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  PHOBoS presents Sim Biosys (EM mix)
  PHOBoS Tales of the Golden Teacher
  PHOBoS presents Music by Hrastprogrammer (feat. Terence McKenna)
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Waldorf rack play
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sentokan



Joined: Aug 07, 2008
Posts: 11
Location: romania

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:03 am    Post subject: Waldorf rack play
Subject description: play and sequence
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi! I have this problem: I try to play with my keyboard some of the channels (in multimode) of the Waldorf MicroQ while the others are played by a sequencer.

The thing is I don't know how to connect everything to be able to do this 2 things.

(so it's the sequencer, the controller keyboard(actually is another synth) and the Waldorf rack)

Thanks so much!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fac



Joined: Dec 08, 2007
Posts: 162
Location: Mexico
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I guess you have to connect your sequencers MIDI OUT to the MicroQ MIDI IN, and your keyboard's MIDI OUT to the sequencer MIDI IN.

Now, the tricky part is that your sequencer must have a way to route the incoming midi messages (from the keyboard) to the MIDI OUT in a specific channel. You'll have to RTFM for this. Which sequencer is it? Or maybe you just have to select the channel in your keyboard and prevent the sequencer from rechanneling the notes. Some sequencers have a parameter to turn rechannelizing on or off.

BTW.- If your keyboard can send in two different channels (e.g., split mode), you should be able to play two patches in the MicroQ.

_________________
My music: http://cdbaby.com/all/fac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2222
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:30 am    Post subject: Re: Waldorf rack play
Subject description: play and sequence
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sentokan wrote:
Hi! I have this problem: I try to play with my keyboard some of the channels (in multimode) of the Waldorf MicroQ while the others are played by a sequencer.

The thing is I don't know how to connect everything to be able to do this 2 things.

(so it's the sequencer, the controller keyboard(actually is another synth) and the Waldorf rack)

Thanks so much!!


There's a Waldorf USer gorup inYahoo Groups if you still are having problems.
You'll need a Yahoo email account to join (they are free)

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sentokan



Joined: Aug 07, 2008
Posts: 11
Location: romania

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks guys, I will try that as soon as I get to the sudio. (My sequencer is Roland MV8800.) Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sentokan



Joined: Aug 07, 2008
Posts: 11
Location: romania

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Isn't it possible this way: ? ?

MIDI OUT FROM SEQUENCER to MIDI IN OF THE KEYBOARD, MIDI OUT OF THE KEYBOARD to MIDI IN OF THE WALDORF RACK.

You think it would work? Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use