electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
Nord modular editor
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
firstsynth



Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:52 pm    Post subject: Nord modular editor
Subject description: How do I know the driver is installed properly?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have had my Nord Modular G2x for 2 years and the editor has worked perfectly almost all the time. The other day it stopped working. I updated the driver in Device Manager and it started working again. I came back to my computer and plugged in again but this time nothing. I have reinstalled a few time. I have downloaded it new again from the website. I don't know what to do.

For about a month, I have been using a Vista laptop-I was using XP-and it has been working perfectly without reinstalling or changing anything.

There is only one thing that I can think of. The other day when I did not have my Nord G2 with me, I was showing someone what the G2 editor looked like on my laptop so I downloaded the sample from the Clavia website. I didn't even think that it would do anything wrong but since then it has not worked. There are no places that I can see where to delete the sample G2 editor.

Please help!

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20587
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmm, hope it's not the G2 itself ... it should be possible to have both the demo and the real thing on the computer, that's what I have and probably many people here. Is it possible for you to try another USB port of you PC? (A while ago David Peck had trouble with an unrecognized G2, changing USB ports made it work for him).
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roland Kuit



Joined: Sep 29, 2003
Posts: 1091
Location: The Netherlands/Sweden
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 127

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

strange behaviour, i had it once, switched the G2 on/off a lot of times. then suddenly it worked again. when you usb plug in the G2, do you hear a sound? has to be 2 sounds.
_________________
Roland Kuit
----------------------------
composer|research|synthesis|sound design|lecturer
http://rolandkuit.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have demo and editor on my pc at home at same time and have no issues. My guess would be switching the USB port to another one. the one I use for my ipod that gets pulled about a bit is getting quite intermittent now.
_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
firstsynth



Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No, I do not hear any sound when the USB is put in. There can't be anything wrong with my G2-it's out of warranty now! When the editor was working for the last two years until last week, everything worked well. Even today it worked once for the first time in a week but when I had to turn it off and came back later, it would not read. Is there any chance of the cord not working? I have noticed that when I have put the USB into certain slots it does bring up a bubble saying, drivers installing, but for the others it doesn't. I don't think that I would turn the G2 on and off repeatedly as I thought that would be bad for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20587
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes, this could be caused by a bad cable indeed, you should try another one.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
firstsynth



Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Another interesting thing that happens is that when I take the Usb out of the computer to try the different ports, each time the computer screen comes up with,'Cable unplugged', so does that mean the Usb cable is being recognized?

Just to clarify what I am trying to do, from past use the title of the patch and all its modules appear on the computer screen automatically when I would connect the computer to my keyboard. Is it possible that I could have changed a setting on the editor without knowing and have made it so that I have to open a file and the patch will load into the editor? I'm probably just being wishful.

Absolutely everything on the keyboard works and it has never crashed. The editor has worked once in the four weeks since it stopped working. After I updated the driver in Control Panel/Device Manager it worked again for one session and then I stopped and turned everything off. When I came back an hour later, the keyboard was not talking to the editor anymore and updating the driver did not work again.

Something I am interested to know is, does the driver automatically install when I install the Nord G2 software? I have tried to install both of the driver files separately afterwards but it says they are not files that can be installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20587
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just reread the first post here and just now I see the Vista word ... the 1.40 editor and device driver are supposed to be non-working under Vista Shocked There is a Beta and Nord claims to be working on an official Vista driver (for almost a year now), maybe contact Nord about the Beta, you'll also need a driver removal tool to remove the old driver, but that should be part of the Beta.

To un-install the G2 demo software :

There should be an un-install option in the "Nord Modular G2 demo v 1.40" folder in your start menu. When that's not the case open a dos prompt and type "C:\Windows\unvise32.exe C:\PROGRA~1\Clavia\MODULA~2.40\uninstal.log" (maybe change the path when you didn't do a default install, and when there are spaces in the path add double quotes around it).

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
firstsynth



Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you. I hope that I can find the Beta for Vista. I am confused though that for a few months the editor did function on my Vista laptop. My editor seems to uninstall properly from the Uninstall put on through the Nord software.

I will try today to find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use