electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time

poster

Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Newbie question: Nord Modular classic
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Repeatpeak



Joined: Dec 25, 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Boston, MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:27 am    Post subject: Newbie question: Nord Modular classic Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,

I'm a new owner of a Nord Modular classic and am just starting to get into this machine. I was wondering if someone here could help me out with a question. After initial issues of lost contact between the editor and Modular (Following the instructions in the FAQ regarding Windows XP solved this) everything works great. However, it happens regularly to me that when loading a patch via editor and then saving it using the front panel of the synth all memory slots appear empty in the display. Basically what happens is: I scroll through the different patches, using the jog dial, looking for an empty patch location. As I scroll faster, skipping a bunch of saved patches, I reach the empty memory area. Now I scroll back to find the first empty slot after(!) my saved patches in that bank and all of a sudden all of those supposedly filled patch locations appear to be empty in the Nord's display. The only way to not accidentally overwrite a patch this way seems to be to scroll very slowly (without skipping) through the existing patch locations or to use the editor's save-to-synth function.
It's certainly something I can easily live with as I will most likely end up saving patches via the editor anyway, but I'm curious to know if this issue is being caused by the editor-synth connection or if others have experienced the same thing.

Anyway, I'm having a blast with this box and can't believe it took me so long to get this thing! I will most likely start bothering you guys with questions about modules and patches soon Wink

Thanks,
Philip
www.repeatpeak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22545
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 219
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 7:08 am    Post subject: Re: Newbie question: Nord Modular classic Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Repeatpeak wrote:
Hi all,

(snip), it happens regularly to me that when loading a patch via editor and then saving it using the front panel of the synth all memory slots appear empty in the display.


This is a bug in the NM classic that never got fixed. The description you gave exactly describes how it is. Nothing to do about it but scrolling slowly towards the end.

You should also avoid to have gaps in the storage bank, that is having unassigned locations amidst assigned ones, this is not properly dealt with either by the 3.03 OS.

Jan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Repeatpeak



Joined: Dec 25, 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Boston, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks! Good to know about it.
I will use the editors save-to-synth instead.
Thanks for your help!

Philip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use