electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
<on air> Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
PCBs for a Sequential Analogue Switch
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 2 of 7 [170 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:
Matt,can u clock it at high very high speed ,and when u switch between audio signals is there an unwanted 'tik' or something audible?

i will try tonight.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
creatorlars



Joined: Nov 26, 2007
Posts: 524
Location: Denton, TX
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Off topic (maybe), but can you tell me where you got those red momentary pushbuttons? They look great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

creatorlars wrote:
Off topic (maybe), but can you tell me where you got those red momentary pushbuttons? They look great!

you are not the first who asked Very Happy
i got them from Reichelt.de
this particular momentary is from SCHURTER, a swiss manufacturer operating worldwide.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd like 2.
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mono-poly



Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 935
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

4 plz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Junk Rhythm



Joined: Jan 07, 2008
Posts: 81
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

creatorlars wrote:
Off topic (maybe), but can you tell me where you got those red momentary pushbuttons? They look great!


You beat me to that question. Those pushbuttons look really nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:
Matt,can u clock it at high very high speed ,and when u switch between audio signals is there an unwanted 'tik' or something audible?

i did a short test/try yesterday. i did not actually "hear" a "tik".
i fed the tri and the sin output of a VCO into I/O 1 & 2.
1st i clocked it by the square output of this VCO. made sound rich and nice.
2nd clocked it by the first devision of the VCOs square. sounded even more richer harmonically.
3rd i clocked it by another VCO (controlled by a LFO) and i got nice sweeps.

i will have to post same samples these days...

concerning the "tik". not that i have taken a look on the scope yet, but for me it seems obvious that there will have to be "glitches" when you switch between different signals in a not synchronized manner, isn't it natural? i think these artefacts will occur irregulary and more or less recognizable at different clocking times - or ratio signal freq/clock freq? just guessing here.
however the analog switch ICs are break-before-make.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xpmtl



Joined: Aug 10, 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Brussels, Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Still have all ur previous pcbs to build but yeah i'll take 2
_________________
http://sdiy.xpmtl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Count me in for 1 (definitely), possibly 2 (depending on finances)
_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
(depending on finances)

that is definetely an issue these days...

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BTW Farnell stocks the DG412 from Intersil for about 2.-EUR.
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
numbertalk



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 980
Location: Austin, TX
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Actually put me down for 2 boards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
TekniK wrote:
Matt,can u clock it at high very high speed ,and when u switch between audio signals is there an unwanted 'tik' or something audible?

i did a short test/try yesterday. i did not actually "hear" a "tik".
i fed the tri and the sin output of a VCO into I/O 1 & 2.
1st i clocked it by the square output of this VCO. made sound rich and nice.
2nd clocked it by the first devision of the VCOs square. sounded even more richer harmonically.
3rd i clocked it by another VCO (controlled by a LFO) and i got nice sweeps.

i will have to post same samples these days...

concerning the "tik". not that i have taken a look on the scope yet, but for me it seems obvious that there will have to be "glitches" when you switch between different signals in a not synchronized manner, isn't it natural? i think these artefacts will occur irregulary and more or less recognizable at different clocking times - or ratio signal freq/clock freq? just guessing here.
however the analog switch ICs are break-before-make.


ok,thanks for testing Matt.

To answer on your question ' isn't it natural',well its like the differences between high end desks when u use the mute button to bring in or cut the signal signal,with cheap desks u will have sometimes a 'tik' on high end u will not have a 'tik'

for experimentation using the module in 'audio mode' it will be (very) enoying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BTW thank you all for interest. the PCB will get manufactured.

i decided to provide additional footprints for cliff 1384 sockets (.8in spacing, like doepfer).

for the power i did not implement a MOTM .156 header, but a conventional MTA100 3-pin connector and a ribbon connector (eurorack).

this way the PCB is still generic, but with a thing for euro Wink

hope you are all fine with that.


SeqSwitchLayout.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  54.71 KB
 Viewed:  146 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

SeqSwitchLayout.gif



_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ach_gott



Joined: Sep 09, 2008
Posts: 79
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
BTW thank you all for interest. the PCB will get manufactured.


Yay!

Quote:

i decided to provide additional footprints for cliff 1384 sockets (.8in spacing, like doepfer).

for the power i did not implement a MOTM .156 header, but a conventional MTA100 3-pin connector and a ribbon connector (eurorack).

this way the PCB is still generic, but with a thing for euro Wink

hope you are all fine with that.


Blech! Wink

The Modcan solution of 3 pin header to 4 pin header cable would work in this case, correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

damn,i did a search for those DG412,its almost impossible to get!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
numbertalk



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 980
Location: Austin, TX
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TekniK wrote:
damn,i did a search for those DG412,its almost impossible to get!


563 in stock - http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?qs=sGAEpiMZZMsn4IaorHFpMJ3iazHtss%2fg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
numbertalk



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 980
Location: Austin, TX
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The schematic shows a 4017N, which seems tricky to find - would a CD4017B work as well here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

DG412, MAX313:
Farnell Europe stocks them (from intersil, about 2.-EUR)
Futurlec in Australia stocks the MAX313 (about 6.-USD)

concerning 4017:
yep. the schematic shows the device from the eagle library. other will do well... take a look at the datasheets. the letters indicate different packages or performance criteria (i.e. temperature range).

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
numbertalk



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 980
Location: Austin, TX
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
concerning 4017:
yep. the schematic shows the device from the eagle library. other will do well... take a look at the datasheets. the letters indicate different packages or performance criteria (i.e. temperature range).


Yep, just wasn't sure if any of that criteria mattered here. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Norman Phay



Joined: Jun 29, 2007
Posts: 173
Location: North-East England
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Can you put me down for 2 of these please, Matthias? Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
wetterberg



Joined: Jun 27, 2008
Posts: 48
Location: denmark

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:40 am    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Matthias, put me down for two as well - looks like a fun and easy build!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xpmtl



Joined: Aug 10, 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Brussels, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:

for the power i did not implement a MOTM .156 header, but a conventional MTA100 3-pin connector and a ribbon connector (eurorack).


Would have prefered the standard MOTM header. If u don't have the space can u make the mat 100 a 4 pin one (2 grounds in the middle). That way it would be easier to make 156 to 100 cables.

A .156 header would be best tho Mr. Green

Anyway, thanks for that project matthias Very Happy

_________________
http://sdiy.xpmtl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisp14u



Joined: Nov 11, 2006
Posts: 206
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

xpmtl wrote:

Would have prefered the standard MOTM header. If u don't have the space can u make the mat 100 a 4 pin one (2 grounds in the middle). That way it would be easier to make 156 to 100 cables.

A .156 header would be best tho Mr. Green


I would like the 156 header but if its got to be 100 make it a 4 pin Rolling Eyes

_________________
Cheers

Paul Darlow

www.krisp1.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3756
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
If u don't have the space can u make the mat 100 a 4 pin one (2 grounds in the middle). That way it would be easier to make 156 to 100 cables.


Quote:
I would like the 156 header but if its got to be 100 make it a 4 pin


good point. i will do that.

i am not offended, i just want to explain: we have MOTM, DOTCOM and EURO. if i implemented all three headers i would need half of the board to do just this (almost Wink ). there are so many flavours, even about front panel components. so i made a decision this time. i think that is still fine - there are a lot of DIY-boards out there without any standard headers... so "something is better that nothing"?!

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 2 of 7 [170 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use