electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Sequencers
Baby 10
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 2 of 2 [40 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
acidblue



Joined: Jun 26, 2009
Posts: 192
Location: The Darkside

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Has anyone made a pcb board for the Baby 10 ?
If so, where can i get one?
Making pcb boards is not my thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
amplex



Joined: May 26, 2008
Posts: 64
Location: sacramento, ca
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i would not even bother with a pcb for a baby10. the thing is so simple,
just get copper clad perfboard (1"x3" is fine even). if it takes more room than that, youre doing something wrong. im going to be building another one of these this weekend or so after my pots arrive. the last one i put into a kawasaki drum toy with a bolt patch bay and it took me about 1 hr to finish completely, even built it on breadboard first to make sure it worked. baby10 sequencer is the height of simplicity and works great =] i want to try cascading chips for a 16step sometime..

_________________
http://www.soundclick.com/amplex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
acidblue



Joined: Jun 26, 2009
Posts: 192
Location: The Darkside

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Please forgive my ignorance but after taking a second look at the baby 10 schematic,
I noticed something i don't understand.
What are those things i have circled ?
Loooks like they're marked 1- 12 pos ?
Also i suspect the 'from clock' is coming from the pwer supply(+15).


Baby_schematic.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  39.12 KB
 Viewed:  420 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Baby_schematic.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
RF



Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1493
Location: Northern Minnesota, USA
Audio files: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

acidblue wrote:

What are those things i have circled ?


That's the pulse out - like a gate. It's high when that particular step is high. You could use it to cycle an Envelope Generator or trigger an event when that step is active.

"From Clock" is just that - you need to step this sequencer from a clock source. You could use an LFO, or a simple CMOS or 555 clock. - even just a momentary contact switch if you wanted to step the sequencer manually.

bruce

_________________
www.sdiy.org/rfeng

"I want to make these sounds that go wooo-wooo-ah-woo-woo.”
(Herb Deutsch to Bob Moog ~1963)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidblue



Joined: Jun 26, 2009
Posts: 192
Location: The Darkside

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok let me get this right.
The 'pulse outs' are out putting to another device?
I thought thats what the CV out was for ?
The 'From Clock I think I understand, i could wire a jack so i could
plug in an LFO or just wire in a 555 chip, or an LFO for that matter

The pulse outs are the ones that got me the most confused.
are they really necessary?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
RF



Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1493
Location: Northern Minnesota, USA
Audio files: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yea - you're getting it.

You could put a jack on the clock in and use an external clock, build a small clock 'on-board', or just use a momentary switch to your positive voltage to step it manually.
No - the pulse outs are not necessary. They will be handy if you are going to use a voltage controlled filter or VCA, but you don't need that. The CV is a voltage that varies depending on the pots. The pulse out is a stable voltage that turns on and off as the sequencer steps.

good luck

bruce

_________________
www.sdiy.org/rfeng

"I want to make these sounds that go wooo-wooo-ah-woo-woo.”
(Herb Deutsch to Bob Moog ~1963)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidblue



Joined: Jun 26, 2009
Posts: 192
Location: The Darkside

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

AH HA ! I think I see.
The CV out would plug into mmm say an analog synth.
The pulse outs would go into some kind of filter,(like you said).
But i don't need to wire in 10 jacks for the pulse outs, would I?
I could just put them all on one jack?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
RF



Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1493
Location: Northern Minnesota, USA
Audio files: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

acidblue wrote:
But i don't need to wire in 10 jacks for the pulse outs, would I?
I could just put them all on one jack?


There's the rub.
If you wire all those pulse outputs to one jack, you end up with one long continuous pulse - not very useful.

Many circuits of the Baby10 use logic on the Pulse outs and the clock in to shorten each pulse, so you get a train of pulses instead of one long endless pulse. I linked to a circuit by Matthias H on page one of this thread that has that feature (and also a clock circuit you might be interested in)

_________________
www.sdiy.org/rfeng

"I want to make these sounds that go wooo-wooo-ah-woo-woo.”
(Herb Deutsch to Bob Moog ~1963)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidblue



Joined: Jun 26, 2009
Posts: 192
Location: The Darkside

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for all your help, I'm starting to get the hang of this, I took electrical courses
in High School, but never electronics.
The small schematic on top is the clock circuit i'm assuming--the link you posted on page one.
Why 2 lm358's ?
On my first attempt i think i'll use a single 555.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
RF



Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1493
Location: Northern Minnesota, USA
Audio files: 28

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey I steered you wrong - there isn't a clock circuit listed on that print...I had thought there was.

The circuit with the 358's is the bit to change the pulse out to distinct triggers....

The 555 will do fine for your clock.

bruce

_________________
www.sdiy.org/rfeng

"I want to make these sounds that go wooo-wooo-ah-woo-woo.”
(Herb Deutsch to Bob Moog ~1963)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidblue



Joined: Jun 26, 2009
Posts: 192
Location: The Darkside

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've run into a bit of a snag of sorts.
I want to wire in a 555 clock to the baby 10 ,
but the 555 runs on +5v and the baby 10 on +15v
I was thinking of stepping down the voltage to +5 for the 555
from the baby 10 power source on a separate circuit, but then I
realized the power source is also -15v, if i've read the schematic right.
The baby 10 requires a + and - 15v source, correct ?

So if i do the step down circuit won't it also give -5v as well ?
and will this adversely affect the 555 chip, since it's expecting only +5v ?

Forgive me if this sounds like a totally stupid question.
Just want to get this right, yes i'm a complete newbie. can you tell ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
RF



Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1493
Location: Northern Minnesota, USA
Audio files: 28

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The Baby10 does not need a bi-polar supply. Just +15 (or 12 or 9 or...)
The 555 operates from 5 to 15 volts with no change in operation....

I think you are good to go.

bruce

_________________
www.sdiy.org/rfeng

"I want to make these sounds that go wooo-wooo-ah-woo-woo.”
(Herb Deutsch to Bob Moog ~1963)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OW



Joined: Nov 03, 2009
Posts: 121
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Would it be possible to connect the baby10 to and SK-1 in order to sequence the bends?

If so how would you hook it up?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 669
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I finally looked into this circuit after seeing baby 10s and baby 8s mentioned all over the place. Cool circuit and extremely simple.

A PCB of something like fonik's schematics still would be nice for those of us who are PCB layout challenged.

The thing I'm interested in, though, is the CarryOut function of pin 12. I'd like to see a schematic for a dual 4017 1X20 sequencer. Or even one that could be switched from 1X20 to 2x10.

I can see where you'd run into issues going from de-linked to linked...in de-linked status both 4017s would be clocking together but outputting CV and pulses seperately. Switching it back to linked would probably have to reset one 4017 and inhibit the clock of the other.

Hmm, I forget how the ARP sequencer acts when you switch from 1x16 to 2x8.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ajax



Joined: Apr 05, 2010
Posts: 63
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So I've been looking at these, trying to breadboard it before I do anything, and I can't quite seem to actually get any sound out of it. Should the CV, pulses, or something else be hooked to the output? Do I have to send something to an osc and then to the output? I'm a bit confused on where the sound should be coming from and how to wire the pots.

Yay noobs! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 2 of 2 [40 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Sequencers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use