electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
G2 expansion board installation
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
groovestix



Joined: Nov 21, 2004
Posts: 6
Location: northeast

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:25 pm    Post subject: G2 expansion board installation Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,

I'm new here and to Nord instruments, too.

I'm attempting to install the expansion board into the G2. I've removed the 7 black panel screws, the screw under the synth beneath the mod wheel, and loosened the two side screws as per the instructions included with the board. The lid won't come off though. I tried gently lifting the cover and tugging a bit harder. It feels like there is a screw still holding it down, perhaps from the bottom panel somewhere in the center.

When I was researching this keyboard I recall coming across a post somewhere that mentioned this same situation. Unfortunately, I don't know where I saw that and search attempts haven't come across it again.

There are additional screws on the bottom, but I do not know which if any of them would solve this problem nor do I want to experiment to find the right one.

Who's finished installing one of these, what am I missing?

Thanks

_________________
Marty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17606
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 124
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome to the forum...

Check out this post: http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-2263.html

I hope that's it...

_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
groovestix



Joined: Nov 21, 2004
Posts: 6
Location: northeast

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That's the one, thanks!

I've installed the card, but I'm uncertain that the internal software has registered the new board. According to the instructions, it says that the letters"Exp" should appear after the OS version number in the main display. No such (or any other) letters appear when I power up. The version number 1.01 comes up but that's it.

What other way can I use to check the status or increased memory level this G2 should now have? Is there a way to do this with only the synth? I've been exploring the sounds and editing via the keyboard only. I haven't checked out the PC/Mac interfacing software yet.

_________________
Marty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20480
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Welcome to the forum !

The only way I'd know to tell whether the expansion is working is to load a patch with known resource usage and see how many voices can be had with that patch ... but that would require the editor program I suspect.

Maybe it's possible to see resource usage from the synth display (I 've got an angine myself and engines don't have a display and I can't find it right now in the manual).

When you make, or have, a 26 .. 50% patch it should have 8 voices unexpanded and 16 expanded.

And ... 1.01 ... you really should update to a more recent version, if only it was to be able to load all the fantastic patches posted on this site :-)

Current version is 1.24 but 1.25 won't take very long probably to see light.

Jan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
groovestix



Joined: Nov 21, 2004
Posts: 6
Location: northeast

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This is a new unit shipped in September this year. It's "funny" how the manual states that there is no need to update the OS because it ships with the latest version. Apparently, this one sat around a little while before it found its rightful new owner...

I've never downloaded an OS update. How do I go about this and then transfer it to the G2? Do I need any special software outside of what is provided by Clavia. What about hardware?

_________________
Marty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17606
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 124
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I suggest you get the latest version of the software. Here is the link to the Clavia site where you can get it: http://www.clavia.com/G2/software.htm

There are instructions there. You don't need any additional special software or hardware (except for the USB port).

_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
groovestix



Joined: Nov 21, 2004
Posts: 6
Location: northeast

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks.
_________________
Marty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pstnotpd



Joined: Apr 09, 2004
Posts: 31

G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Version 1.24 does indeed say Exp on the startup screen when the expansion is installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use