electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Linux as a music workstation
Cannot start jack as normal user
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:19 pm    Post subject: Cannot start jack as normal user
Subject description: Anyone familiar with jackd?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Using the same command-line args, I can start jackd as root, but not as a normal user.

/usr/bin/jackd -R -dfreebob -r48000 -p1024 -n3 -D

Code:

jackdmp 1.9.4
Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
Copyright 2004-2009 Grame.
jackdmp comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
JACK server starting in realtime mode with priority 10
Freebob using Firewire port 0, node -1
Ieee1394Service::initialize: Could not get 1394 handle: Invalid argument
Is ieee1394 and raw1394 driver loaded?
Fatal (devicemanager.cpp)[68] initialize: Could not initialize Ieee1349Service object
Fatal (freebob.cpp)[69] freebob_new_handle: Could not initialize device manager
FreeBoB ERR: FREEBOB: Error creating virtual device
Cannot attach audio driver
LibFreeBoB ERR: cannot create libfreebob handle
JackServer::Open() failed with -1
Failed to start server



What am I missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 528
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You should add yourself to the audio group. Run as root:
Code:
usermod -a -G audio username

Replace username with your own.

Good Luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks, wmonk. That doesn't help and I don't know why, but in addition to adding myself to the audio group, I've had to do other things. I've solved it here, if anyone else is interested. I'd also love to hear from anyone who knows what I should do differently.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-812246-highlight-.html?sid=ff8eec519939b14e54aff1db1e96856a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 528
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, gentoo has a different realtime group. Didn't know that.
If it stil doesn't work edit the file:
/etc/security/limits.conf
And add:
Code:
@audio   -  rtprio     99
@audio   -  memlock    unlimited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I had different values for rtprio and memlock. I changed them. This is my entire limits.conf:

Code:

@audio          -       rtprio          99
@audio          -       nice            -10
@audio          -       memlock         unlimited

*               hard    rtprio          0
*               soft    rtprio          0
@realtime       hard    rtprio          20
@realtime       soft    rtprio          10


I'm wondering if having both @audio and @realtime is somehow "wrong".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 528
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No it isn't. But with those settings you should be ok. Does it work? Hope you'll do some nice linux audio things. Keep me posted! Smile

Cheers,
Wmonk

_________________
Weblog!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, it only works if I set permissions manually on /dev/shm as root every time I boot up. But I was thinking of writing a bash script to prep the computer for audio by doing this, as well as shutting down services not needed for audio such as apache, mysql, webmin, fcron, etc. Then another bash script to turn them all back on when I need the computer for other things.

I'll definitely post here when I produce works from Linux. Right now, I'm still going through a list of software I want and debugging/fixing ebuilds in the pro-audio overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, it only works if I set permissions manually on /dev/shm as root every time I boot up. But I was thinking of writing a bash script to prep the computer for audio by doing this, as well as shutting down services not needed for audio such as apache, mysql, webmin, fcron, etc. Then another bash script to turn them all back on when I need the computer for other things.

I'll definitely post here when I produce works from Linux. Right now, I'm still going through a list of software I want and debugging/fixing ebuilds in the pro-audio overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 528
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Do you run PulseAudio? That can cause some problems.
And did you install the real-time kernel?

_________________
Weblog!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nope to Pulseaudio and yep to RT kernel (rt-sources on Gentoo). I may have to tweak some things, though. I also plan to upgrade my computer with more RAM. It'll hold up to 16 GB, and I plan to eventually max it out and maybe use ramdisks for audio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fengland



Joined: Feb 18, 2010
Posts: 50
Location: Burlington, VT

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

you can always throw stuff to run on startup in /etc/rc.local and it will get run - there's some fancy way to set permissions with some udev configuration file or something, but I usually just put stuff like that in rc.local. I'm lazy though and usually run all my audio stuff as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd forgotten about this thread. Way back in January!

I have things running nicely with JACK now, especially since discovering the joys of jackdbus. Plus, a new machine with a Phenom II x6. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Linux as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use