electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Yusynth Modules in Euro (12 Volt) Systems
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 3 [51 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
questionable



Joined: Aug 27, 2006
Posts: 42
Location: southern california

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:16 pm    Post subject: Yusynth Modules in Euro (12 Volt) Systems Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For a number of reasons (mostly size and the availability of very interesting boutique modules), I have started a small Eurorack system. I am interested in doing some DIY work as well, and quite a few of the Yusynth modules are calling out to be included in the system.

While I have already found this thread about converting the moog filter to 12V:

http://www.electro-music.com/forum/topic-33887.html

...I'm curious:

1) Which Yusynth modules (if any) will work properly without modification in a 12V system?

2) What mods are required to get the rest working?

In particular, I'm looking at some of the bread & butter modulers (LFO, VCA, ADSR).

I really appreciate any assistance you all can give.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Some can be used directly in 12V :

VCA, mixer, ADSR, most of the VCF, Gate delay, pulse delay, glide, Nois&SH, saw animator, logical, random gates, FFB, VC-LFO


Some can't and need important modifications :
VCO, CV-STANDARD

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
questionable



Joined: Aug 27, 2006
Posts: 42
Location: southern california

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks, Yves. It looks like I have some etching to do! Smile
_________________
Sounds Questionable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
questionable



Joined: Aug 27, 2006
Posts: 42
Location: southern california

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is the Steiner Filter one of the VCF's that doesn't require mods for 12V?
_________________
Sounds Questionable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
questionable



Joined: Aug 27, 2006
Posts: 42
Location: southern california

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Perfect. It will be my first Yusynth project.

Thanks for making all of these projects available Yves. Very kind of you.

_________________
Sounds Questionable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turger



Joined: Feb 22, 2010
Posts: 2
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you don't mind answering another one, what about the vca-wavefolder? Can that be used within 12V configurations?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

turger wrote:
If you don't mind answering another one, what about the vca-wavefolder? Can that be used within 12V configurations?


Yes it can

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
turger



Joined: Feb 22, 2010
Posts: 2
Location: usa

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

yusynth wrote:

Yes it can

Awesome! Thank you very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomHarding



Joined: Sep 15, 2010
Posts: 16
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What modifications would need to be made to the Standards module so that it would work on a 12v supply?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dstrength



Joined: May 23, 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Mobile, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The problem is that the supply rails are used to generate the octave and semitone offset voltages. Thus, you'll need to recalculate resistors R3,R5,and R7.

After a quick check I would try to change R3=15K, and R5=130K, and R7=130K.

But, I'll warn you I'm guessing I'm missing something here. I don't understand why Yve's chose R5 as 180K and R7 as 156K in the original. It seems intuitive that these should match since they're generating equally opposite voltages.

I'm sure I'm missing something...as I can guarantee you that the odd value of 156K wasn't arrived at without due consideration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomHarding



Joined: Sep 15, 2010
Posts: 16
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks

Probably a little out of my depth then. Thios dual voltage thing is a real pain.

I was looking at intergrating the three standards with 3 MFOS VCO's to give the VOC's, Octave, semitone and detune controls rather then the standard coarse and fine.

I can probaly get somthing to work with Rays ocatve switch circuit at;

http://www.musicfromouterspace.com/analogsynth/oddsandends.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi the values proposed by dstrength should do the trick.

For dstrength : To answer your question about the odd value of 156K , I first designed the circuit with symetrical values (i.e. 180K) for R5 and R7 but (probably because of the tolerance of some component or some impedance issue I haven't figured out) it was impossible to get the right range for the lowest values, then I simply trimmed the value of R7 until I got the right behaviour. If you have a clue to explain this misbehaviour of the 180K value I buy it.

_________________
Yves

Last edited by yusynth on Tue May 31, 2011 3:39 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dstrength



Joined: May 23, 2010
Posts: 17
Location: Mobile, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Yves. That makes sense. I simulated the voltage divider section in Multisim in order to see if I could figure out the discrepency. As you'd expect...under simulation you arrive at equal resistor values for the semitone offsets.

I think your explanation is the most logical: an aggregate of tolerance errors...most likely in the trimmers. Perhaps also differences in the absolute value of each voltage rail.

Thanks again,

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
transistor logic



Joined: Jun 21, 2011
Posts: 3
Location: canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i would like to know wich filters can be used with 12V without modification
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitched



Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 80
Location: phila., pa USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I may as well ask, just to be sure: How about the ARP 7072 filter? Will everything operate as normal or will I have to pick up a few resistors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

glitched wrote:
I may as well ask, just to be sure: How about the ARP 7072 filter? Will everything operate as normal or will I have to pick up a few resistors?


no idea you just have to try it by yourself...

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hv0190



Joined: Apr 18, 2011
Posts: 23
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've just finished building the 4072 Filter and it's running perfectly in my 12V Eurorack system. Thanks a lot to Yves - you are the man too much coffee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great news , no I know how to answer this question Cool
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hv0190



Joined: Apr 18, 2011
Posts: 23
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I know this is madness, but I had to squeeze both the 4072 and the Moog Filter into the 4HP Eurorack format:
By the way: It is really easy to achieve a good 1v/oct tracking with the Moog Filter. In self-oscillation you can play beautiful flute-like melodies.
And yes: it's running on +/-12V cheers


Filter.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  107.26 KB
 Viewed:  157 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Filter.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1229
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nice and colorful modules
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
glitched



Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 80
Location: phila., pa USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Great job, hv0190! I can't wait to get my kit and my panel.

Let me ask you this: how did you mount the PCBs in 4HP? Would you mind taking a picture of the back?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hv0190



Joined: Apr 18, 2011
Posts: 23
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Glitched! Very Happy
As you can imagine it isn't that easy when the panels are not even 1 inch wide, so I simply solder the pots (9mm Alpha) to perfboard and then fix the PCB on the perfboard.
I haven't got any pix of the filters, but this one here shows what I did to the T. Henry/Fonitronik X-4046 VCO ...
Maybe when I am more confident when it comes to working with aluminum I'll try and make some made-to-measure pot brackets Embarassed


vco.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  203.74 KB
 Viewed:  162 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

vco.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitched



Joined: Mar 25, 2006
Posts: 80
Location: phila., pa USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks so much for sharing that. I always panel-mount my pots when I do a layout on perfboard, but this time I'm getting a "real" pcb from bridechamber.com, which doesn't have spots for pots, on-board.

I don't have the tools to make brackets, so I was a little confused as to what to do! Anyway, yeah, I like your idea of mounting smaller pots on a perfboard, then mounting the PCB to that. I'll probably end up doing something like that. Thanks for the idea!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hv0190



Joined: Apr 18, 2011
Posts: 23
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:11 am    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK, some update from the 12V/4HP loonie:
Some other YS modules running smoothly at 12V are the ADSR (I actually made an 8HP dual-version) and the Random Module.
Both are easy to build (thanks to Yves' excellent online documentation) and have worked 100% right from the start.
Yves, I cannot bow down often enough to praise your work wave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 3 [51 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use