electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Andromeda newbie
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 12:52 am    Post subject: Andromeda newbie Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just bought an 8mb flash card for my A-6, but can find nothing in the ref manual on how to use it. I am new to the Andromeda, so I hope you all won't mind my asking questions.

Also is it normal for the synth to ask me to initialize the card each time I turn it on?

I sure wish there were some other instructional books available on this synth, as I find the manual quite lacking in terms of instruction.

Otherwise I love this machine.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Ray

_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
seraph
Editor
Editor


Joined: Jun 21, 2003
Posts: 12105
Location: Firenze, Italy
Audio files: 33
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Cobraman
welcome to electro-music.com Very Happy if I were you I would cancel the telephone number from your signature file Cool

_________________
homepage - blog - forum - youtube

Quote:
Politics is the entertainment division of the military industrial complex - Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You're right, there's nothing in the manual about it.
I think you just put the card in, and follow the instructions that pop up on the screen when you turn it on, to format it.
It's been a while, but I do remember there was something confusing about it.
Are you sure you're using a PCMCIA type I card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There is a very useful A6 tips & tricks site here:
http://home.planet.nl/~robnet/a6/A6TipsAndTricks.html

I found this about the ram card:

Quote:
The procedure is a little tricky; you have to follow the directions carefully or you'll miss the important step (like I did about 6 times).

After it displays the card size, it should then display a message something like:

SB1=programs SB2=mixes SB3=progs&mixes

This means that you hit soft button 1 to put only program banks on the card, soft button 2 to put only mix banks on the card, and soft button 3 to put a combination on. If you just hit "store" a second time without having pushed one of the required soft buttons, it will abort the initialization process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

EGW, Thanks. I actually followed that to the T, and perhaps it worked, but I have no way of telling. I don't know how to save a sound to the card, or even access the card. It blows me away that they would not even make a mention of any instructions on how to use a feature that almost every owner would want to use.

Is it normal that everytime I power up the A-6 it always asks me to initialize the card? That does not seem right to me.

I sure wish someone did an instructional book to this thing. Every other synth I've owned had books (other than the manual) written for them, why not a synth like this one?

Thanks again.
Ray

_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No, it should not ask you to initialize the card when you power up.
That means your card has not been formatted, which means that either you missed a step in the initialization or it is the wrong type of card.

When the card is working, you access it by turning the knob to select banks.
Depending on the size and how you formatted your card, they will show up after the internal banks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah, I think I got the wrong card. I have the 8mb Linier Flash Card (#FAD008-P) and it seems that I need the SRAM 2mb card. What blows me away is the fact that I got the below e-mail from the SUPERVISOR of tech support at Alesis recommending the card that I bought. See below e-mail from Alesis:








Quote:
Hello,

http://www.timasci.com/linear.htm Card type: FAD008-P



Hope this helps,



Robert C. Ray

Supervisor - Alesis/Akai/Numark/Ion

Technical Support and Return Authorizations

200 Scenic View Dr.

Suite 201

Cumberland, RI 02864

rray@alesis.com



Phone 401-658-5760

Fax 401-658-3640




_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hard to believe that you got the wrong advice from tech support.
You should let them know, so they don't repeat the mistake.
Also give us a report when you get it working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17629
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome cobraman...

I checked out your web site. Yikes!!! Snakes!!! Shocked

Anyway, glad to have you here and I hope you get your A6 straightened out soon. I don't have an A6 myself, but I've played EGW's a bit and it's lots of fun - beautiful sounds...

_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 689
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

there was something that the card could be 2mb, more cannot be read, maybe he just ignores the rest.
try to save some patch on it and see if he saves it before and again after restart.
one problem could also be the battery, the cards are batterypowered, don't know if your battery has been installed properly and another thing if it's still filled. a friend of mine bought a card with the battery already empty!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks all, The Alesis tech admitted to me that he made an error in recommending the 8mb linier card instead of the propper 2mb SRAM card. I got the right card, and by golly, it works. Immagine that!

Does anyone know if anyone puts out a book for the A-6 other than the manual?

_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 689
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

nice it works now, where did you by the way find the 2mbsram card and how much did they ask for it?
about books, besides the good tips and tricks mentioned above i don't know about any books specific for the a6.
however any book on (modular)analog syntheses can help.
b.e. the following book about the nord modular synthesis, downloadable at:

http://www.cim.mcgill.ca/~clark/nordmodularbook/nm_book_toc.html

also on the sound on sound (sos) pages you'll find a wealth on programming all kind of patches, very useful for , also, the A6. location:

http://www.soundonsound.com/search?page=3&Section=8&Subject=12&session=1908ba67beb134522758c2393e666003

and afcourse you can look at the other A6 question list at :
http://mailman.code404.com/mailman/listinfo/a6

drop a patch once you get the hang of it, greetings, sunny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am slowly getting the hang of this thing, but in doing so I seemed to have overwritten the patches in prest 1 with the patches on the card salut

Is there a way to reset this to all the orig. factory settings (sounds)?

Thanks again for all your help.
Ray

_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 689
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

restarting it with softbutton 3 pressed.
this will however also replace the presets of the userbank so save them on card before!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I tried that last night, but it only restored the user patches. I need to restore the preset patches as well.
_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
soundwave106



Joined: Nov 24, 2004
Posts: 326
Location: Elmo's Mud Wrestling Club
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You can find a Sysex / MIDI file of the factory banks at Alesis's site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cobraman



Joined: Dec 30, 2004
Posts: 7
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The guys at Alesis were very helpful. They told me to send them my SRAM card, and they would load all the factory sounds (and maybe more) on it and send it back to me.
_________________
Be Blessed!
Ray Hunter
www.cobraman.net
772-215-7625
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17629
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Glad to hear it...
_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use