electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
calling PC building know-it-alls!
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 2 of 2 [33 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3869
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, I thought he/she was going for the 1366, might as well just get DDR2 RAM then, wouldn't that be cheaper?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ashe37



Joined: Oct 31, 2009
Posts: 16
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

1156 uses DDR3.... the memory controller is built onto the processor.
_________________
E-Mu e6400 Ultra -Ensoniq VFX & ESQm
Korg M3, EMX-1 , MS2000BR
Roland MKS-50, Juno 106 Alesis Micron
Waldorf Blofeld
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3869
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So it needs DDR3 but can only use 2 channels?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ashe37



Joined: Oct 31, 2009
Posts: 16
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

yep, 2 channels of DDR3-1066, iirc
_________________
E-Mu e6400 Ultra -Ensoniq VFX & ESQm
Korg M3, EMX-1 , MS2000BR
Roland MKS-50, Juno 106 Alesis Micron
Waldorf Blofeld
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2491
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Also, the 1156 series don't technically *need* perfect pairs anymore. Things are better for sure with dual channels of paired up RAM, but it's not a requirement. The new cache and memory management unit can optimize things on it's own now.

So, you can take that left over DDR3 that you have laying around for 3 years now, and stick together an ad-hoc system to calculate the size of the expanding universe, or decode SETI receptions at blazing speed Wink Wink

It should be noted for the original poster, that whatever you get, choose the chip in the family with the largest size cache. The more data in cache, the less you access RAM anyway. And the new cache in the 1156 has more sharing between the cores, so efficiency of multi-track mixing can require less use of external memory if your tool spreads tracks out across cores.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rykhaard



Joined: Sep 02, 2007
Posts: 1290
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
So we won't be recommending AMD then Smile

I must admit my PC building days are gone, would it still work out cheaper to build your own or just buy one nowadays?


Mmm. That's got me wondering a bit as I am now as of yesterday, getting ready to construct a new machine for music only and ... I wont touch Intel. Surprised Lots of studying to do, for me. Surprised Smile

Seeing the recommendation for NOT having wifi at the same time as the machine running, I'll have to keep in mind. My wifi router is up on the 1st floor of the house and my new music purposed computer will be in the basement's studio. Hmmm hmmm hmmmmmm. scratch

There're so many aspects to look at for building a machine specifically for music recording as well. Running Reaper for audio as well as MIDI at the same time, being the end result / desire.

Would there be any advantages to going 64 bit as opposed to 32? (The extra memory abilities of Win 7, with 64 bit.) I'm also looking towards the future. The 6 1/2 year old machine that I'm replacing were a powerhouse when I built it - FOR the purpose of lasting a long time. That's another main feature that I'd like with the new machine - for it to be a powerhouse, for a good long time.

Could anyone out there give me any rough estimates as to what I should look for in building a new machine? I.E.:

- # of cores
- amount of RAM
- HD speed / # of hard drives (knowing that physically separate for data, is a preference)
- 64 or 32 bit? (It WILL be Win 7)

Also - could the downside of AMD be specified at least somewhat for me? I've not been a fan of Intel for years and years, due to their extreme extra costs for just about anything. Perhaps they've come down closer to AMD in pricing though, and I'm not aware of it?

Thanks for any tips / suggestions / help. I'd like to start purchasing the required components for building the machine, as soon as possible.

I'm also not worried on graphics for it. Would it be ok to leave the graphics engine to the motherboard itself? Or would it still be better to go with a physically separate video card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2491
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You can always run a connection to the internet from your upstairs PC, and use something like VNC to remote into that computer from your studio PC inorder to do browsing.

That's to say: you will have wifi enabled in your studio only while web browsing. Otherwise, it's off. However, the studio PC will talk to your "normal" computer, which then talks to the internet. That keeps your studio computer safer. VNC is extremely easy to use, and fast over a local internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4760
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Rykh,
I can't see anything wrong with AMD, they've served me well for the last 10 years or so.
And definitely get a separate video card. You don't want to be sharing any RAM with the video system. Keep as much as possible freed up for your music.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 2 of 2 [33 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use