electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
VC Master Clock with PWM - PCB run
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 1 of 4 [90 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3760
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:41 am    Post subject: VC Master Clock with PWM - PCB run
Subject description: SOLD OUT
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi all,

for use with my KLEE and VCPS-8 sequencers i always wanted a Clock with PWM. since in those sequencers the length of the trigger out depends on the duty cycle of the clock, PWM of the clock will add live to the sequences.

here are two very short sound samples (mp3) that show what i mean. the trigger out of the sequencer is routed to the cutoff of a ssm2044 filter:
VC CLock PWM VC CLock Speed CV

BUILDING DOCS:
Documentation 9 MAR 2011

the CV Clock features a manual speed control, CV in for speed with attenuator, manual PW control, CV in for PWM with attenuVERTER(!), clock output, and an indicator LED.
the VCO creates a falling ramp. the clock pulse is derived from that falling ramp using a comparator, thus you will not have a change in timing when doing PWM!

i am taking pre-orders until 7th of FEB. PCBs should be available mid/end of february.
(see: Recommendations for PCB offers on electro-music)
SOLD OUT

the price will be:

5.-EUR/7.-USD each PCB

+ packaging & postage (revised, german postal service changed their prices)
outside europe: 2 PCBs = 3.-USD / 3+ PCBs = 5.50 USD
europe: 2 PCBs = 2.-EUR / 3+ PCBs 4.-EUR
deutschland: 2 PCBs = 1.-EUR / 3+ PCBs 1.50EUR


frontpanel suggestion (to give you an idea):
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

PCB layout:
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)

Last edited by fonik on Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:27 am; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
magman



Joined: Feb 04, 2009
Posts: 361
Location: Liverpool, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Fonik,

I would be interested in at least 2, possibly 3.

Regards

Magman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RF



Joined: Mar 23, 2007
Posts: 1493
Location: Northern Minnesota, USA
Audio files: 28

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd go for three of these, Matthias

Thanks for offering...

bruce

_________________
www.sdiy.org/rfeng

"I want to make these sounds that go wooo-wooo-ah-woo-woo.”
(Herb Deutsch to Bob Moog ~1963)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XCenter



Joined: Oct 01, 2005
Posts: 108
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Zwo Platinchen für mich bitte.
_________________
--
How may I be of disservice?
---
Music for conscious listening @ http://www.frankmakowski.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 669
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Two please!

You know...I'm a huge fan of your products, fonik...but so far I haven't gotten around to building any of them! Embarassed

That day will come, but it'll still be a while; I'm collecting projects for later while slowly working away on a prioritized list. Confused

_________________
Looking for a certain ratio since 1978
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rosch



Joined: Oct 03, 2009
Posts: 164
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i'd like 3 please
thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danno Gee Ray



Joined: Sep 25, 2005
Posts: 1343
Location: Telford, PA USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd be in for 2 please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
droffset



Joined: Feb 02, 2009
Posts: 489
Location: London and Oxford
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Two for me please.
_________________
==================
Check out the FREE Intro to Lunettas Document
https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AZIwOP-PR9sSZDlidzgzbV8wY3RjenJqanY&hl=en

Edit: Spelling mistakes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brother303



Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 139
Location: ruhr-area/germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello,

3 for me,please. Wink

Would it be possible to run two (or more) of these pcbs in sync to each other?

This would make it much easier to play around with two (or more) sequencers running on the same clock but with different pwm-settings.

Best regards
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 796
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Very nice I will take at least 4 also please mathias Smile
if you can add a sync in , I will make that 12 Very Happy Cool
the ability to sync would really be a most usefull addition
cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adam-V



Joined: Jan 29, 2007
Posts: 300
Location: Australia
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sounds great Matthias, I'll take half a dozen if this goes ahead.

Cheers,
Adam-V

_________________
Digitalis Effect | Fractured Symmetry (www.spiralsect.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3760
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

diablojoy wrote:
Very nice I will take at least 4 also please mathias Smile
if you can add a sync in , I will make that 12 Very Happy Cool
the ability to sync would really be a most usefull addition
cheers

i hear you. however, the design and prototype is already finished and tested as is.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3760
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brother303 wrote:
Hello,

3 for me,please. Wink

Would it be possible to run two (or more) of these pcbs in sync to each other?

This would make it much easier to play around with two (or more) sequencers running on the same clock but with different pwm-settings.

Best regards
Greg

cool idea.
what you could do was to use only one VCO core of the 1st PCB and then route it via the TP1 wire pad to the comparator section of the 2nd PCB (or to all the others, you wanted to use. with a little bit more tweaking you could even use a switch for master/slave mode.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Level5



Joined: Feb 16, 2007
Posts: 29
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm in for 6 PCB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glacial23



Joined: Apr 30, 2008
Posts: 32
Location: Cleveland, OH

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Three for me, please!
_________________
glacialcommunications.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dego



Joined: Apr 22, 2008
Posts: 139
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

2 pcbs please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whomper



Joined: Dec 15, 2007
Posts: 200
Location: Israel
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Two for me, please.
_________________
Erez Yaary

Home Page: http://www.yaary.com
Buy my CDs at http://www.mellowjet.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brother303



Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 139
Location: ruhr-area/germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

fonik wrote:
cool idea.
what you could do was to use only one VCO core of the 1st PCB and then route it via the TP1 wire pad to the comparator section of the 2nd PCB (or to all the others, you wanted to use. with a little bit more tweaking you could even use a switch for master/slave mode.


That`s exactly what I had in mind! Glad to here that it`s doable in that easy way. thumb up

What about an external input to the comperator section? For example,Din-Sync fed into the comperator,possible or not? dunno

Best regards
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brother303



Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 139
Location: ruhr-area/germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

*sorry,double post* Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patchdub



Joined: Jan 21, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Taos, NM

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

definitely 1 perhaps 2
_________________
www.patchdub.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 796
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi mathias just wondering I am not sure if it can be this simple but if
I kludged an analogue switch say one section of a dg412 at c2 to provide a dump cct and sent a clock signal to the logic in would that provide a reasonable sync to a master ? I maybe completely wrong but the switch would only need to short c2 ? of course it may just make it a very odd clock or nothing at all. I still have so much to learn here
since there are 4 spst in a dg412 I was thinking it would be good for a quad unit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3760
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brother303 wrote:
What about an external input to the comperator section? For example,Din-Sync fed into the comperator,possible or not?

one could add multiple inputs to the comparator, sure. however, feeding a logic signal into a comparator does not make that much sense, doesn't it?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3760
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

diablojoy wrote:
hi mathias just wondering I am not sure if it can be this simple but if
I kludged an analogue switch say one section of a dg412 at c2 to provide a dump cct and sent a clock signal to the logic in would that provide a reasonable sync to a master ? I maybe completely wrong but the switch would only need to short c2 ?

i would think your approac would be a kind of reset? i dunno.
i will try some options tonight. however, i'd rather tried to sync it via IC1B.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
donpachi



Joined: Jul 16, 2009
Posts: 60
Location: Marburg
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Zwei für mich, bitte Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 796
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

reset yes I think you would be correct if iam reading it right mfos's vco sync is done kind of a similar way in theory though the implementation is far more complex to my mind hence my concern at how simplistic i was making it
1 chip for 4 ccts and 2 resistors per cct for the logic in's
just sounds too good so I dunno either
guess I will just try it out on breadboard when i can free it up
it's got a vactrol based pan on it at the minute

thanks for taking the time Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 1 of 4 [90 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use