electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » MIDI Controllers and Interfaces
Question about Opcode Studio 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
patrickvf1976



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 182
Location: Gig Harbor

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:26 pm    Post subject: Question about Opcode Studio 3 Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello, I have this Opcode Studio 3 thingy sitting around collecting dust and I have decided that it's time to put it to good use now that I have more than one piece of midi gear to mess around with. I actually found it in a Goodwill store and know hardly anything about it other than that it's normally used with a Mac. Now my question(s) is/are: Can I use it with a PC, and if not can I use it by itself? I also noticed that it has two midi ins. I read somewhere that one is for the outputs 1-3, and the other for outputs 4-6. Is there a way to bridge between these outs by, say hook one of the first three thru's to the 2nd input? would this work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrickvf1976



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 182
Location: Gig Harbor

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

nothing? anything? please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Uhh... ups..
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK, I think this is one was meant to be used with old the mac printer/modem port serial interface. The last models which had these ports were...?? ...the Apple Macintosh G3?? And the fancy black Apple laptops from the same era.



I reckon the thing needs a software driver. Theoretically the thing could be used with PCs.. but you would want a driver and an interface adapter from the old serial port.. and to something else. On the other hand.. a lot of work..

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don´t remember the specs in detail. I think at least one of the Opcode interfaces had a standalone capability of sorts.

I have seen PDF manuals about.. scratch years ago.. on the net. The last time I used an Opcode interface must have been in 1999.

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
patrickvf1976



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 182
Location: Gig Harbor

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hmm.. ok.. I gave it a shot as a stand-alone module and it seems to work fine, the problem is that thru ports are split into groups of three for each midi input. Now my quiestion is: could I theoretically hook something like a controller keyboard on input 1, then loop any of the first three outs back to the 2nd input, so that I can use all 6 (minus one) outs to control my gear? is this at all possible? Also I have another thru box called MidiMan 2x4 - is there any chance that I can use that for my (Linux) PC? Perhaps via serial port? Is that supported under Linux (Jack)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4531
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Midiman 2x4 is supported, at least on Ubuntu out of the box. The Linux drivers exist separately if you have to roll your own.
_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
supernova777



Joined: Jan 06, 2014
Posts: 1
Location: Aurora, ON

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i believe u would have to be running OMS to be able to use the opcode studio 3 on a windows computer.. i think there was some type of driver made by a 3rd party to make it work with xp but u wouldnt be able to run vista or windows 7 thats for sure u would have to run xp, and have oms for winxp, and have a mac serial -> pc serial cable... its a long shot. it might be easier to get a midisport 2x4 usb interface.. or a motu fastlane..

really this thing works best + easiest with mac os 9 on a g3 or g4
computer that has a serial port adapter..... this is why they are so cheap because to most people who arent using macs from 14 years ago they are completely useless.
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/forums.html?board=42.0

check this link for xp driver:
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/43986-opcode-midi-interface-xp-driver-here.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » MIDI Controllers and Interfaces
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use