electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Modular Synthesis
Newbie to Modular; I need help...
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 2 of 2 [31 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2

DE II and then get modules? Or begin my modular?
DE II, then add my modular around it.
100%
 100%  [ 2 ]
Ditch the DE, begin the modular.
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 2

Author Message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20280
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've no knowledge of anyone 'unlocking' the demo (and I don't think there actually is such a thing as unlocking it). But its just a couple of modules really that are non functional in the demo, the midi processing, the vocoder, the dx-7 emulation stuff and it has no audio in.

I have got three engines here, but I build nearly all my patches on the demo software these days, and only when I have something special it'll go on the real thing.

Really it has plenty of good stuff to keep you busy for a couple of years.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3619
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 254
G2 patch files: 95

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

G8tr1522 wrote:
The G2! Yesss.
Honestly, if I could figure out how to get the full version (or just unlock the demo somehow), I would hold off on getting hardware synths for a while...
Do you know how to do that in any way?


Actually, the full version is when you buy a G2 keyboard or G2 Engine. So, there's no fuller version of the software Nord Modular demo.

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
G8tr1522



Joined: Jun 01, 2012
Posts: 18
Location: Dothan, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah. Well that's a bit out of budget...and I can't seem to find the rack-version anywhere. Well I guess i'll continue messing around with that. Thanks again.
_________________
New to the forums here...don't hurt me please... Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
G8tr1522



Joined: Jun 01, 2012
Posts: 18
Location: Dothan, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oh yeah! One more question. Will I need a separate midi to CV converter to control my VCO? Like Oakley's midiDAC midi CV converter, except in eurorack format.
( http://www.oakleysound.com/mididac.htm )

_________________
New to the forums here...don't hurt me please... Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17557
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

AFAIK, there is not full or unlocked version that has ever shown itself. Sometimes Nord Micromodulars show up on eBay for $300 or $400. They are a great bargain, I think.
_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
EATyourGuitar



Joined: Oct 28, 2010
Posts: 46
Location: Providence, RI

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

bump! there are some great software modulars. I own or have tried most of them.

reaktor
vaz (you can start making sound in less than a minute)
max/msp
pure data

then there are hybrid hardware modules with software frontends like the Nord modular (original or G2), SCOPE, Kyma

I was getting mad at some of the limitations of the nord modular software. VAZ has horrible sounding filters that just dont float my boat like analog does. I built a sequential switch in VAZ and the patch was huge! not like reaktor where you can hide your boring bits.

you should get that analog systems VCO you like and run an adapter on the power to get it to work with the doepfer power connector. link
http://bigcitymusic.com/forums.html?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_65&products_id=97
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 2 of 2 [31 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Modular Synthesis
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use