electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Novation Hardware synths and MIDI/Ableton
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:04 am    Post subject: Novation Hardware synths and MIDI/Ableton Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I was running my Novation Xstation and a MIDI controller into Ableton. A werid problem happened, the audio in the Xstation would cut out. Often when launching Ableton.

I thought I had a hardware problem with the Xstation....so I figured it was time to replace it. I bought an awesome Ultranova... which is great... except the same problem is happening!!!!

It is kind of disturbing and I have been trying to troubleshoot this problem for months. Tried every possible angle. Now I am wondering if Automap is the thing at fault. If you are running a hardware synth into Ableton, WHY would the audio cut out??

Only possible performance workaround would be ... just run the audio into a mixer & have it be completely independent from the MIDI. Very 1990's solution.

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

QUOTE:
I was running my Novation Xstation and a MIDI controller into Ableton. A werid problem happened, the audio in the Xstation would cut out. Often when launching Ableton.

So I have been troubleshooting this problem. I noticed the audio would cut out on the OLDER tracks I wrote last year....before I started using MIDI. I wondered if the OLD Ableton had been written under a different driver that wasn't seeing the newer instruments.

I rooted around in my program files and found that there were some novation driver files in min 64-bit Windows 7 directory. When I opened those, I was able to play Audio instruments thru Ableton just fine!

Thought I had the problem solved. Now I am noticing that after I experiment with lots of effects, sends etc., the audio gradually fades away. It is as if the DAW is being "overloaded", or like a congested highway, it just loses strength [speed].

I sure wish I could get some other opinions on this.

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4501
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Laura, it's probably the PC not the Novation. I have an underpowered PC I use for a few things and the sound on that cuts out randomly. I don't use it for music so I haven't tracked it down. But in your case, it could be something to do with memory or cpu or something. I'm assuming windows, don't know which one but if it is, then maybe look for a newer driver online or see if there's an interaction with ableton or something.
_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

QUOTE: Laura, it's probably the PC not the Novation. I have an underpowered PC I use for a few things and the sound on that cuts out randomly.

Hi! Thanks for replying!

The problem used to happen on my desktop computer which runs Windows 7. In April I bought a core i-5 Acer laptop running 64-bit Windows 7 with 2.5 Ghz with turbo boost up to 3.1 ghz. 6 GB DDR3 memory, blah blah, the point is, it's spankin' new & up to date.

So... it doesn't seem like the computer is at fault.
Perhaps it is just the nature of the electronics. The wires get overloaded or whatever. I don't know what other musicians are using or whether any of them try to run an audio hardware synth thru a DAW along with MIDI. Possibly I should just run the hardware synth separately, separate cables, don't even hook it up to the Tascam USB interface.

I"m still a newbie at all this, so I'm sure there's a lot I don't know.

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
AmbiphonicDSP

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use