electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Synare 3 Clone Power Supply?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Springbok Abominations



Joined: Feb 07, 2013
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:16 pm    Post subject: Synare 3 Clone Power Supply?
Subject description: Using a 12v power supply with a Synare 3 Clone
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey guys.

Thinking of building a synare 3 clone from a schematic i found on the clacktronics website. Upon looking up other peoples clones i found that some were able to use a 12v power supply. How this is possible i am unsure. I would prefer to use a 12v power supply. I initially thought it was because they removed the battery saver part of the schematic (with the darlington pair). But when i looked at the trigger conditioner i seen that this also requires 18v. This throws me off quite a bit. If i end up using an 18v power supply, can anyone recommend a specific one? I'm pretty cautious about using the wrong power supply incase i fry the board with too many mA.

I'd be ever so grateful if you could help us out!

Liam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Osal



Joined: Aug 16, 2011
Posts: 145
Location: Here

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Looking at the repair manual in the same page, the power supply has a 12V regulator and in series a 6.2V regulator which creates a virtual ground.
So, the result is a +/-6V power supply. (to be exactly +5.8V/-6.2V).
I don't see that the trigger conditioner needs +18V.

Do you want to power it with batteries? Do you want to power it from the mains electricity?

_________________
electronic-sea.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Springbok Abominations



Joined: Feb 07, 2013
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi thanks for replying Osal!

I'd like to power it from the mains. As i said i got the schematic from the clacktronics website so i think there have been some modifications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Osal



Joined: Aug 16, 2011
Posts: 145
Location: Here

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey,

The trigger conditioner is operated from 18V, because this trigger also controls the battery saver circuit.
If you will not use batteries you don't need to operate it from the unregulated 18V supply.

As far I can see in the Clack schematics, the supply is notated as ground/+6/+12 instead -6/gnd/+6. But this is actually the same. It is just a different reference.

You could use one of these power supplies adapting the values and the transformer for a -6/gnd/+6V http://electronic-sea.net/power_supply.html

_________________
electronic-sea.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Osal



Joined: Aug 16, 2011
Posts: 145
Location: Here

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mmm, I see in the repair manual that for external power you only need 25mA and 20 Volts. (pag. 12)
So, in this case a wall wart would be the best option. I think.

_________________
electronic-sea.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Osal



Joined: Aug 16, 2011
Posts: 145
Location: Here

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This thing could do the job:
http://www.rapidonline.com/Electrical-Power/Stontronic-Plug-and-Go-18VDC-6-Watt-EUP-85-3705/?sid=4d2fb058-270e-470d-812c-e80f959980aa

_________________
electronic-sea.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Springbok Abominations



Joined: Feb 07, 2013
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ahhh nice one mate. 0.33A should be acceptable. very cautious with power supplies i am. i've fried stompboxes through using wrong power supplies.

Thanks!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
AmbiphonicDSP

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use