electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
New sequencer project - Documentation on First Page
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 31 of 32 [792 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 29, 30, 31, 32 Next
Author Message
LetterBeacon



Joined: Mar 18, 2008
Posts: 454
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd be up for a board!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 669
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yep, definitely should be a good market for a new version!
_________________
Looking for a certain ratio since 1978
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Luka



Joined: Jun 29, 2007
Posts: 1002
Location: Melb.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

amazing - count me in for switches + pcb
_________________
problemchild
melbourne australia
http://cycleofproblems.blogspot.com/
http://www.last.fm/user/prblmchild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldbob



Joined: Jun 18, 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Count me in for PCB, thanks.
oldbob

So many modules, so little time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 485
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I finally got around building mine, and after a lot of wiring (yuck, those switches o_O) it basically works.

Although.... my CV output gives a nice and steady -13.92V. (Indeed /the/ typical value of a TL074 clipping.)
I would like to fix this of course. What I already checked: voltage on potentiometer wiper is okay. Voltage on the PCVS bus is okay.
Voltage on the PORT1 pin is -13.92V. (again that magical number).
So, what should I do to fix this?

Cheers,
Woody

Edit: forgot to mention that I'm using V2.0 firmware.

_________________
Weblog!
Kits for synthesiser modules in Europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 191
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wmonk wrote:

Voltage on the PORT1 pin is -13.92V. (again that magical number).
So, what should I do to fix this?


Hello

Oh dear, that sounds a bit strange.
Please check there are no shorts around the TL704.
PORT1,2 just feed the big capacitor that hangs on an input
of the TL704 [simple lag circuit] so have a look
at the big cap for any shorts [sorry I haven't go my circuit with me
so can't tell you the part no.s at the moment Embarassed ]

I am away on business this week, so cant check my
circuits this week.
I will try and work out some help when I am back next week, sorry.

-ryk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 669
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ryktnk wrote:
I am away on business this week, so cant check my
circuits this week.

That's what DropBox is for Mr. Green

_________________
Looking for a certain ratio since 1978
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 485
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, replacing the opamp fixed the problem. Very Happy
I now have it working and I love it! One problem still exists, whenever I turn a stage to three steps, it skips the whole stage it altogether.

Cheers,
Woody

_________________
Weblog!
Kits for synthesiser modules in Europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 191
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wmonk wrote:
Well, replacing the opamp fixed the problem. Very Happy
I now have it working and I love it! One problem still exists, whenever I turn a stage to three steps, it skips the whole stage it altogether.
Cheers,
Woody


Hello

Sorry for the delay - back on dry land !

Glad the CV problem is fixed.

The stage count problem, sounds a little strange.
Can you check the voltage on the CT [stage count] bus.
It is pin 18 of the PIC chip, or from the CT pad on the PCB.

If you stop the clock on the seq, and then push the PREV button
to get to stage "1"
Adjust the Stage Count for stage "1' and check the CT voltage:-

Use a DVM to check the CT voltage [pin 18 of PIC].
It should read 0V if the stage is set to "1" count
and approximately
0.8V for "2" count
1.4V for "3" count
2V for "4" count
2.6V for "5" count
3.2V for "6" count
3.8V for "7" count
4.6V for "8" count

Perhaps also check the stage Mode MD voltage [pin 19 of PIC, of MD pad on PCB]
Adjust the Stage Mode for stage "1", and check the voltage for each setting.
0V for "-"
1.8V for "1"
3.1V for "11"
4.5V for "1-"

Also double check carefully there are no shorts on the PCB
between any of the PIC chip pins, and make sure that MD, CT,MAX
MODE,SDIV wires from the switches and pots are wired to their
corresponding pads on the PCB.

Lastly, it might be worth checking all the diodes from the
POT1-8 bus, to make sure their polarity is correct.
Please refer to the Panel Wiring PDF on the first page of this thread.

Let me know how you get on.

-ryk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
panda30y



Joined: Apr 12, 2009
Posts: 17
Location: Detroit, Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you do another run, I'd be interested in 2 or 3 board and switch sets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
synchromesh



Joined: Dec 02, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Norfolk, England & Wellington, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 9:30 am    Post subject: Yes please! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, I'd be keen on a couple of PCBs & PICs myself, once version 3 is ready. This seems like a highly-regarded sequencer module, and I think it would be great.

Thanks very much for putting this together!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noiselector



Joined: Mar 30, 2013
Posts: 21
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am interested in this project!
PCB+PICS+ PANEL possible??
thanks. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aladan



Joined: Aug 13, 2011
Posts: 48
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Excellent! This has been at the top of my 'want' lost for some time now. I will definitely be in on this - pcb, pic, switches, everything except for a panel (I roll my own Smile Depending on price, might pick up a few...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patchdub



Joined: Jan 21, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Taos, NM

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

really hope you'll do another run of these!
_________________
www.patchdub.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 191
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

Thanks for the interest.

V3 software is "kind-of" [some bugs] ready, which includes a selectable loop
mode [ useful for a,a,a,b type sequences etc ]

Working on a new hardware design, trying to squeeze in MIDI
but a bit of a tight fit at the moment.

Anybody keen on MIDI ? Is it worth the effort ?

-ryk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aladan



Joined: Aug 13, 2011
Posts: 48
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ryktnk wrote:
Hello

Thanks for the interest.

V3 software is "kind-of" [some bugs] ready, which includes a selectable loop
mode [ useful for a,a,a,b type sequences etc ]

Working on a new hardware design, trying to squeeze in MIDI
but a bit of a tight fit at the moment.

Anybody keen on MIDI ? Is it worth the effort ?

-ryk

I'm pretty sure I would use that functionality (modular control over sweet modular sounds layered with digital synth sounds could be quite interesting), but I'm still just as keen even without it.

Does anyone have a good current lead on slide switches suitable for this project (with > 3 throws) that don't cost the earth?

Thanks for your great work, ryk!

Cheers,
A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aladan



Joined: Aug 13, 2011
Posts: 48
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Definitely worth asking on muffs if you're looking to sell more boards, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piedwagtail



Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 151
Location: shoreditch
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Very interested in a set.

MIDI always helpful, maybe pin headers for a daughtercard?


R
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sduck



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 441
Location: Nashville
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 191
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

looks familiar . . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dancelwerk



Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 55
Location: spain Canary islands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi Ryk, I made your sequencer a few years ago, wonderfull I use a lot, I see the video from Intellijel, and their adaptation sounds very like a 303 slide, more than my diy sequencer, for example I can't get a continuous slide like in the 303, always I get a gate between notes.

Should be your sequencer sound very closed to the 303 slide or is this a modification from Intellijel?

Is there any mod to get a continuous slide in your sequencer?

Thanks in advance.

I have 2.1 rev.

Fernando.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dancelwerk



Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 55
Location: spain Canary islands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

for any confusion, i have the portamento working but is not the same portamento of the metropolis sequencer based in your sequencer, is like a little bit shy and always cut the note between notes, not legato slides.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 191
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

Sorry I was a bit cheap for the portamento circuit.

The Intelly module I think has cloned the 303 slide circuit.

See below.

This could be added to the M185 with a bit of a daughter board . . .

-ryk


image.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  252.75 KB
 Viewed:  56 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

image.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dancelwerk



Joined: Aug 28, 2009
Posts: 55
Location: spain Canary islands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wowww, this is fantastic, I will put this daughter board without doubts, can you say to us how we can?. I refer the schematic and where we have to connect this doughter board, I think that many people who build this sequencer will do this add,

what do you think guys????

of course if is possible this add.....

Thanks in advance. Surprised Smile Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 191
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

I have never used a TB303, so dont fully understand
the slide . . .

As I see it there is no time control of the slide, presumably
it is a constant time slide ?

Therefore the Portamento Control would no longer be functional . . .

If you have already built the programable slide board for the M185
you could re-configure it for the TB303 circuit.
Please see below for the schematic of the Portamento on the M185
and also refer to the last page of "Constructions Notes2.1" on page 1 of the thread.

You would basicaly need to insert the Roland circuit part between
PIN7 of IC4 [CV signal] and the PCV2 bus [that supplies the scale 3V5V switch]
IC4C is no longer used.
The control signal for Slide ON/OFF comes from PIN3 of the PIC [if you are using
V2.1 of the software]
The 3V/5V scaling would probably be off after this mod, as I dont
know the Roland CV levels in their circuit . . .

[ The Roland slide circuit CV Input is the bit after the resistor ladder [JUNC R90 R89] and CV output is PIN7 of IC11 ]

Give it a try and see if it works



PS

I have just noticed [after all these years] Embarassed
There is small error on the CV output circuit.
R70 should not be in the feedback path, oh dear.
C14 and R72 should be conncected directly to IC4 PIN14.

Might not be notcieable unless you have a few VCO's
hanging off the CV output, it may droop.

Embarassed
-ryk


M185_Schem_Portamento.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  137.43 KB
 Viewed:  49 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

M185_Schem_Portamento.PNG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 31 of 32 [792 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 29, 30, 31, 32 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use