electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
4017 Baby Sequencer Stripboard
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 4 of 4 [94 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
baudrate



Joined: Mar 19, 2012
Posts: 27
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That 4017 works so that whatever voltage you power it with will be the same for the output. If your synth will only handle 5v and you're powering with 9v you could add 7805 to the gate out and add some pull down resistors to the CV out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
baudrate



Joined: Mar 19, 2012
Posts: 27
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here you go. Hexinverter did all the work. The 9v conversion is about half way down.

http://cv.hexinverter.net/?projects=sympleseq-5v-level-conversion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

those CV outputs could be affected by load though. I'd follow them with an op amp buffer. You could use a 100k pot voltage divider in place of the two resistors if you wanted to be able to vary the output for different synths.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Speedy RB



Joined: Apr 02, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: SoCal, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

-minus- wrote:
Excellent news! Very Happy I might have to do a stripboard diagram at some point for a trigger sequencer.


Yes, please!

Seriously, I built the sequencer based on your layout - great layout!

I've had no electronics training, just what I've learned by trying things out, so whenever I can find clear layouts for interesting projects I really appreciate it. In fact, part of the reason I joined these forums was to thank you for your design!

When I get around to taking some pics or a video of my finished 'baby', I'll post them.

Next up? The cacophonator, based on your layout, of course. And wow thumleft , you really outdid yourself on that one - love the vintage look!

And if you ever do get around to creating a stripboard layout for a 4017 trigger sequencer... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Another modification that occurred to me tonight as I was looking over some old patch diagrams in Allen Strange's book...

I want to be able to clock this guy externally....


In the original schematic that would be cut the wire from 555 pin 3 to the clock and put a normal jack in the middle.

With the transistor inverter and such I've done, it's take that wire from the transistor collector to the run/stop switch and put the normal jack there.

I also think I want to take each of the individual gates to their own output jack, and that seems similarly simple (just pull from the far side of the trigger switches, probably use 1K output resistors).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-minus-



Joined: Oct 26, 2008
Posts: 764

Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for the compliments Speedy RB. I build everything onto stripboard but not everything gets to be a presentable illustration worth posting. Most of the circuits I have made are either hand drawn on paper or in a crude form drawn in Illustrator. I was thinking I should make time to post one a month this year but so far it hasn't happened. I have several circuits in a partial stage of being finished as artwork to post. I'll try and do something about getting them finished and posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Speedy RB



Joined: Apr 02, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: SoCal, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

-minus- wrote:
Thanks for the compliments Speedy RB. I build everything onto stripboard but not everything gets to be a presentable illustration worth posting. Most of the circuits I have made are either hand drawn on paper or in a crude form drawn in Illustrator. I was thinking I should make time to post one a month this year but so far it hasn't happened. I have several circuits in a partial stage of being finished as artwork to post. I'll try and do something about getting them finished and posted.


Best of intentions with unfinished projects? That sounds familiar... Smile

I'm sure whatever you post will be most appreciated (by me and others) - thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boundlessFX



Joined: Jun 06, 2013
Posts: 4
Location: JP, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:57 am    Post subject: Clock stop & momentary switches Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I built this thing pretty quickly & easily and it definitely works interestingly with the only "synths" I've got that have inputs - a weirdly modded WSG and a circuit bent Synare 3. My only problem is; the switch that's supposed to stop the clock doesn't work correctly, and the momentary switch that's supposed to advance once step at a time doesn't work at all. When flipped, the clock stop switch freezes the clock for about a second and then it starts right up again and runs normally with the switch still flipped. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boundlessFX



Joined: Jun 06, 2013
Posts: 4
Location: JP, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:31 am    Post subject: Whoops Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nevermind! Embarassed I tinkered with it a little more, fixed up a solder connection, and now it works perfectly. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-minus-



Joined: Oct 26, 2008
Posts: 764

Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah good to hear. The step advance isn't perfect. Perhaps the momentary switch could do with some de-bouncing circuitry or a de-bounce IC.

If you need to voltage control simple noisemakers, you can always use a home made vactrol:

http://ruinwesen.com/blog?id=1325
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mubase



Joined: Mar 24, 2011
Posts: 115
Location: London UK
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:36 am    Post subject: 4017seq @ beginnning of thread...rotary problems Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The 4017 step sequencer at the beginning of this thread... Has ANYONE got it to work with a rotary switch.
I am going nuts trying to find out why mine isn't working.
The stripboard assembly and wiring is ALL CORRECT. I am connecting the middle lug of rotary to pin15.
Pin13 is grounded.
I am using 5 Volts.
When I try to change the step number with the rotary switch, It just carries on putting out 10 steps except for position 9 which seems to work....

PLEASE HELP SOMEONE....!!!!

_________________
There's a crack in everything...Thats how glue manufacturers make a living.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I use a rotary (greyhill surplus). I have pin 15 pulled down with a 47K resistor as well as the connection to the rotary (and the reset switch).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feggster



Joined: Sep 12, 2011
Posts: 52
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:33 am    Post subject: Re: 4017seq @ beginnning of thread...rotary problems Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

µbase wrote:
The 4017 step sequencer at the beginning of this thread... Has ANYONE got it to work with a rotary switch.
I am going nuts trying to find out why mine isn't working.
The stripboard assembly and wiring is ALL CORRECT. I am connecting the middle lug of rotary to pin15.
Pin13 is grounded.
I am using 5 Volts.
When I try to change the step number with the rotary switch, It just carries on putting out 10 steps except for position 9 which seems to work....

PLEASE HELP SOMEONE....!!!!


did you omit the blue wire?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snaper



Joined: Feb 28, 2014
Posts: 138
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Have somebody the schematic for this version?
I've found a lot over the net, but this seems the simplest...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Citezyne



Joined: Jan 09, 2015
Posts: 17
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Heya folks,

I have been doing a fair bit of research on the Baby 8 and found this thread in pure delight of past experience on this forum, with nicolas3141's Simple but fun Bleep machine.

Found here: http://electro-music.com/forum/viewtopic.php?highlight=bleep&t=61208

I have made a similar setup to this in the past called an 8 step APC i believe also featured in the forum somewhere. however that had the noise maker part built into the sequencer. i am building this one for the Simple but Fun Bleep Machine by Nicolas, and hope to use that as the noise part to this sequencer.

I have a bit of a silly question, am i correct to believe that A and B in the original schematic are the input for the sequencer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-minus-



Joined: Oct 26, 2008
Posts: 764

Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The points A and B go to the legs of a 1M (b) potentiometer as shown in image 3. The sequencer has an inbuilt clock to control the rate. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Citezyne



Joined: Jan 09, 2015
Posts: 17
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OH i see now, pardon my ignorance but where would i feed the sound into?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 779
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 27
G2 patch files: 52

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Citezyne wrote:
...pardon my ignorance but where would i feed the sound into?

This sequencer is not designed to accept audio input. It only produces control voltage (CV) outputs that are used to control the CV inputs of other synth modules, typically the pitch of VCOs.

To use this sequencer CV to control the pitch of your Bleepy Machine, do as Nicolas describes in his 4FEB post on page 2 of the Bleepy Machine thread that you linked above.

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seasonalfruits



Joined: Mar 14, 2015
Posts: 2
Location: autonomous circuit of buenos aires

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I tried to build an 8 step sequencer days ago and it didn't work with this schematic. clock seems to work, but the sequencer pots don't.
I checked the soldering and wiring and everything seems fine.

I can't control my anxiety so I just dropped it, and now I want to try with this stripboard, but I want to make sure if the only fixes were:
-the 555 control voltage (pin 5) through a 10nf cap to ground.
-the 4017 reset (pin 15) through a 47k resistor to ground. pin 15 also goes to pin 9, right?

thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 4 of 4 [94 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use