electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
PCB offer: Thomas Henry's CMOS ADSR (blinkin' lights)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 2 of 3 [52 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
smidirin



Joined: May 01, 2007
Posts: 14
Location: analogfx.studio

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 am    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanks fonik, got pcb's & they're your usual top quality Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StormB



Joined: Aug 15, 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,
Is it still possible to get 2PCB CMOS ADSR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have no idea what I've done wrong with this module. It doesn't seem to want to trigger in the right order in gate mode (A-R-D) and then A-R-D-S in trigger mode. I've repeatedly gone over my wiring and can't figure this one out.

Anyone else run into anything similar or am I just stupid?

_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

most important, use CMOS capable of +15V, and definetely use a CMOS timer, as shown on the BOM. a common 555 won't do.

additionally, a valued customer recently spotted an error on the circuit PCB. i did not recognize this error just because the two prototypes i built worked flawless from the start w/o any corrections.

The minor error on the PCB routing: +V is connected to IC2/pin8 (CMOS Timer) via C7, however, this capacitor should be mounted in parallel. So here is the fix:

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'll give that a try. I'm using the ICM7555, which worked fine on the LFO's, so I'd assumed it would be fine here.
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Weirdest thing. No matter what it seems to get to sustain and just stop.
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

the multiplexer is addressed by the gate input and the timer. so i suspect the 555 to not working properly.
did you apply the fix yet?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I applied the fix. I'm going to replace the 555 when I get home from work with a new TLC555 and see if that does it.
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StormB



Joined: Aug 15, 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello
just yesterday my CMOS ADSR soldered and finished
found that it works great with einemTLC555 or NE555
then when I tried it with an ICM555 the envelope curve does not work properly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

StormB wrote:
Hello
just yesterday my CMOS ADSR soldered and finished
found that it works great with einemTLC555 or NE555
then when I tried it with an ICM555 the envelope curve does not work properly

this is great information. and thomas obviously listed especially the TLC555 part in his BOM.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

StormB wrote:
Hello
just yesterday my CMOS ADSR soldered and finished
found that it works great with einemTLC555 or NE555
then when I tried it with an ICM555 the envelope curve does not work properly


Well, that explains a lot, and is a hard lesson on why I should always use sockets for my chips.

_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

SO I replaced my ICM7555 with a TLC555 and I'm getting the same result. It just stops at Sustain and stays there.

I'm going to build my second board out and see how it works.

_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, so now it works as expected with a gate, but when it gets a trigger or I try to use it as an LFO it stops at sustain.

With a gate signal it works fine.

_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

crashlander42 wrote:
..., but when it gets a trigger or I try to use it as an LFO it stops at sustain.

this is intended.
take a look at the top right corner of thomas schematic, where he explains the different modes:
if you apply just a trigger, then you are in AD mode. and that"s what the LFO mode switch does, it routes the end trigger to the trigger input. so in LFO mode you have a looped AD.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

oh wait. it STOPS at sustain? turn the sustain fully down.
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yup, it stops at sustain when I give it a trigger or use the LFO switch. I have it sustain turned all the way down and I've jacked around with the Trimmer.
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

crashlander42 wrote:
Yup, it stops at sustain when I give it a trigger or use the LFO switch. I have it sustain turned all the way down and I've jacked around with the Trimmer.

so all is good, but it just would not loop, no?

did you try patching the end trigger to the trigger input using a patch cord ISO the switch?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nope. I tried manually patching it first. I populated both boards at the same time, so I probably did the same stupid thing on both of them. Sad
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i would try to test the end trigger. look at a scope, or just try to trigger another module with it.

if i understood you correct anything else is working? so you can use it with an external trigger in AD mode (trigger only, sustain & release fully down)?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

With a gate signal it seems to work fine, with a trigger it goes through A-D and then sticks on sustain even if i have sustain and release fully down.

I looked at the end pulse out on my scope and I see nothing. I'm going to go back over the board and make sure I didn't do any stupid resistor mix-ups on both boards.

I may just be spoiled by everything I've built lately working perfectly right when I plug it in Smile sorry for the questions.

_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

crashlander42 wrote:
With a gate signal it seems to work fine, with a trigger it goes through A-D and then sticks on sustain even if i have sustain and release fully down.

so the AD mode is working properly for itself. it is just the the loop does not work?
just to be sure: for making it loop you must not have anything applied to the trigger input (unless you want to loop it by pathing the end trigger with a patch cord).

Quote:
I looked at the end pulse out on my scope and I see nothing. I'm going to go back over the board and make sure I didn't do any stupid resistor mix-ups on both boards.

is is a very short pulse. try triggering another module (i.e. sequential switch or sequencer or divider) to be shure.

Quote:
I may just be spoiled by everything I've built lately working perfectly right when I plug it in Smile sorry for the questions.

no need to be sorry! we will work it out.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
crashlander42



Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Orlando, FL (US)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just tried running my sequential switches and sequencer with the end pulse and nothing. Even while repeatedly triggering via gate.
_________________
When they plug me in the lights go down in Hong Kong.

http://www.myspace.com/isaciongun
http://www.youtube.com/user/Crashlander42
My DIY stuff Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

now you know where to troubleshoot. there is somthing wrong with the comparator creating the end pulse. no end pulse, no loop in AD mode (LFO)

take a look at the circuitry in my additional documentation. check if the comparator output changes when envelop goes down.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
alangave



Joined: Jan 06, 2008
Posts: 4
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

I know, I'm a bit late on this thread, but I wonder, Is it still possible to get 1PCB CMOS ADSR + front pannel ?

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

alangave wrote:
Hi,

I know, I'm a bit late on this thread, but I wonder, Is it still possible to get 1PCB CMOS ADSR + front pannel ?

Regards

yes.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 2 of 3 [52 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use