electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Antimon Antimon's Half Year Report
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
NMG2 Open Source Editor
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 19 of 20 [487 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, there should be a file named "g2editorfmx.xml" in directory 'C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\'. Try to find it and delete it.

It's what in Delphi is defined as GetHomePath, because of the different platforms. Maybe it's better that I put it somewhere more easy to find and also to add some checks preventing the thing you encountered... Confused

Hope you can fix it!

_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20476
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yup, set
Code:
patchDir=""
and it starts again. What was wrong with c:\ for the value? ... before I nuke it again Laughing

I always prefer to have the settings file in the application folder ... which probably will not work for all platforms (including windows when you want to install into program files ... which I stopped using for that reason).

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20476
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, a path like

Code:
C:\_my_stuff\downloads\g2_editor_fmx_win_v0.2\g2_editor_fmx_win_v0.2\patches


or

Code:
C:\_my_stuff\downloads\g2_editor_fmx_win_v0.2\g2_editor_fmx_win_v0.2\patches\


works fine.

And

Code:
c:\_my_stuff\downloads\g2_editor_fmx_win_v0.2\g2_editor_fmx_win_v0.2\patches


is fine too. Prolly a rights thingie in the root of C then.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
What was wrong with c:\ for the value? ... before I nuke it again Laughing


Don't know, I search the directories using the tried and tested FindFirst/FindNext/FindClose functions and filter out the prf2 and pch2 files.

Maybe a bug in the TTreeview Object when too many nodes are added. I'll test some more.

Blue Hell wrote:
I always prefer to have the settings file in the application folder ... which probably will not work for all platforms (including windows when you want to install into program files ... which I stopped using for that reason).


Agreed, I'll probably make a platform depended IF then...

_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20476
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It may also be that findnext will get into a cycle following windows hard links .. or what was the windows word for that again ... the directory structure is a bit messy since XP ...
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I updated the editor to v0.3 and made the following changes:

- Cleaner and faster termination of the USB connection on closing of the application. This bugged me a long time, but solved this by just sending a reset command to the usb interface on closing.

- Changed the location of the ini file “g2editorfmx.xml”. On windows this will be in the application folder, on Osx this will be in the documents folder.

- Added functionality “Auto assign midi to knobs”. This is for engine owners who want to use an external midi controller.

I tried to make this before on the previous editor by making an extra midi connection to the editor, but I wasn't really happy with it, because you basically had to run the editor all the time, and also the midi connection wasn't very stable.

Now I've implemented it differently, you can assign midi cc's to the buttons and sliders on parameter pages that are stored in the ini file, see picture below.
On the application settings there is a knob "Auto assign midi". If you enable that knob, the controllers are automatically assigned to the parameters associated to the buttons and sliders on patch load.

This means that the "in memory patch" will be modified, because midi controllers are stored in the patch.

- Changed the patch file browsing tree. Sub directories are only read if you expand a directory in the tree, so the application won't freeze if you accidently enter C: as your root patch folder Wink

- A number of small bugs.

- Updated help file: http://www.bverhue.nl/G2editorFMXHelp/G2_editor_fmx_help.html

If you want to try out the editor you can find it over here: http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17


Assign cc to parampage.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  109.87 KB
 Viewed:  31 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Assign cc to parampage.png



_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank you again for that incredible work, and congratulations.
It works fine on OSx Mountain Lion.
The only thing I couldn't understand is : how can one change morph range? I couldn't do it with Ctrl click.
I really LOVE all the new functions you implemented and the fact this editor is compatible with so many OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks xav!

You are right, forgot to build the Ctrl+click in for the morphs. However, you can also set them using the sliders on the "Param" tab which has a subtab "Morph assign".

Just tested some more and found a number of other problems with the morphs.

And I also found someting else Exclamation

If I assign a Midi CC to parameter "Clk run", for example and I switch to the clavia editor, I get error message "Version corrupted, Ctrl assignment problem".

This might be the same problem Antimon found...

So, this is a bit more serious, I'm taking this version temporary offline till I fix it.

Thanks very much for testing!

_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, I've put a new version v0.35 up.

The problem with the “Version corrupted, Ctrl assignment problem” error message in the Clavia editor had to do with some illegal controler assignments.

For example, it apparently isn't allowed to make a controller assignment to patch parameter "Volume level".

So now I've I have disabled the assignment of controllers/knobs/morphs to parameters that are not allowed to have them. Hopefully I found them all.

Also fixed some problems with the morphs, Ctrl + mouseclick included.

_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, I managed to get the USB connection between Android and the G2 going Smile

It wasn't as difficult as a I feared, but there are a couple of requirements for the tablet:

- The Android device must support "Host USB" mode
- You need a USB OTG (On the go) cable

I'm happy with this because these Android tablets don't cost a lot of money, I have an Acer A1-810 which supports USB host mode, and costs about 175 euro.

I ran the editor, but the full application is much too slow to be of any practical use and also the screen is too small for the application.

So I'm going to downscale my ambitions for the moment, and first make a simple G2 controller app for Android. I'm thinking loading patches, setting variations and some parameters.


Editor on Android.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  539.13 KB
 Viewed:  31 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Editor on Android.png



_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Couldn't resist making a little application Smile

It isn't much yet, just loading patches/performances and changing variations, but it responds well and is just fun to play with.

For anyone interested in the programming part of making the Usb interface working on Android with Delphi, you can find some demo code over here http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?p=65


DSCF2854.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  614.86 KB
 Viewed:  26 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

DSCF2854.JPG



_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20476
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brunov wrote:
Couldn't resist making a little application Smile


Cool

Quite fast too .. after that initial disappointment.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you have an Adnroid tablet supporting USB Host mode, you can give the application a try. You can download an experimental version over here http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?p=108 and read some instructions how to install and use it.

It's not much more than a controller at the moment, and it may crash now and then, but has some potential.

The problem of the usb interface is mostly tackled, at least, on my acer a1-810. The crashing happens mostly when sending a lot of parameter messages to the g2, for example by moving a slider up and down with high speed, so I had to put a limit of 20ms on that, which in turn causes latency. So that's something that remains to be solved.

Another problem is how to implement a complex patching interface on a small screen and a slow processor.


frmMiniEditor.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  137.72 KB
 Viewed:  22 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

frmMiniEditor.png



_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Waw, on a tablet? Great.
I have a dream : a tablet G2 editor with a pedal. When you select a parameter (touching the screen) you could change its value with the pedal. There is a gap between real controllers and display (like for example touch osc). It's funnier to tweak real buttons or pedals than virtual sliders on a tablet. So with that tablet editor with a pedal, it could be easy to edit with one foot on the pedal, one hand on the screen, and the other (hand Wink ) on the keyboard of the G2.
Your editor running on a tablet seems to be the first (and hardest) part of my dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, after some recovery time i am back in the studio now and switched my g2 on again.. Nice progress with the open source project.. Just trying the 0.35 fmx beta and want to try the hidden modules now since i found them most promissing on my last try..

The fmx editor opens on osx 10.8.5 and connects fine with my G2.. but.. i cant load patches from the disk..and when i try to safe a patch i get the error message in the attachment. Access violation at adress 0074183A, accessing address FFFFFFFE.

Is that a known problem?

greets
Sven


Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-12 um 00.04.57.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  27.59 KB
 Viewed:  1969 Time(s)

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-12 um 00.04.57.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey Sven, good to see you back!

I didn't know about that error. I'm on 10.8.5 also and haven't seen that error message.

What have you put in the "Applications settings" "Patch directory" edit box? See image below.

The idea is that you put the root directory of your patch files in that edit box, then if you press "Refresh" on the Patch tab, the directory tree and files should appear. Seems to work o.k. here...

And Xav about your dream, the best thing I can think of is to build some function into the tablet application by which you can easily switch the foot controller between patch parameters. Are you using one foot controller or multiple?


Untitled.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  188.8 KB
 Viewed:  19 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Untitled.jpg



_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Waw Brunov, it would be great!
For the moment, I only use one pedal, plugged in control pedal input.
Maybe the best way to do that would be to propose to choose a Midi CC for this purpose (pedal, wheel or midi incoming data).
Thank you very much to take that idea in consideration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3phase



Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 1152
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 13
G2 patch files: 138

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brunov wrote:
Hey Sven, good to see you back!

I didn't know about that error. I'm on 10.8.5 also and haven't seen that error message.

What have you put in the "Applications settings" "Patch directory" edit box?


Hi, thanks Smile

Actually i had nothing there.. Selecting a folder in my user folder actually fixed the issue.

I however have difficulties to create a path to my secondary hard drives.. Usually i just select them--but how is the path in a written way?

Would be actually nice to be able to select the path with a selector box.. But thats maybe useless comfort since you usually only do such a setting once..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Do you think other tablets could be better than the Acer A1-810 to host the editor? Maybe the wish to edit from a tablet is too ambitious for nowadays gear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scannari



Joined: Nov 21, 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Lille

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just a thought about tablets, has anyone tried a Cintiq Companion?

http://cintiqcompanion.wacom.com/CintiqCompanion/en/

It may not be small (and cheap) enough for what you are looking for, but it could run the Nord Modular G2 Editor along with a DAW...

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xav



Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 144
Location: paris
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 7

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Right Scannari,
That should be a perfect combination, but so expensive...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It all depends on what you want to do with the tablet.

I agree that the little acer tablet is not much use for patching, even if I would be able to create the user interface for it.

I want to use it more as a sort of controller for loading patches or assigning controlers, that kind of thing. Maybe usefull for someone with a small mobile setup with a g2 engine.

If you want to be able to edit patches on a tablet, I guess you'll need a windows based one for the moment.

_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Electromagnetic Wave



Joined: Apr 28, 2013
Posts: 79
Location: Kebek
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Brunov,

I posted this video because it may give you good ideas (interaction from the editor with an android/iphone tablet).


The editor works on my android (a very small phone) with Remote Desktop. I noticed that the only one who often speaks of this alternative is jksuperstar. I know this is not ideal on a stage/live.

In my case I use this alternative since the late 90s in several circumstances.
I remember the first time I was fishing on a lake in the middle of nowhere and I was playing with my g2 (YES! with sound!). Very Happy


I tested several remote applications in the past. How to move around the screen works really well with Remote Desktop. In the video I play with some functions in the editor and I created a small patch. No problem to connect the wires!


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brunov



Joined: Aug 03, 2011
Posts: 204
Location: delft
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Shocked Amazing you can do all that on such a small screen! And it all responds quite fast.

Yes, I knew of course of remote desktop but hadn't thought of using it on a phone. Thanks for showing, gives me something to think about Very Happy

_________________
My old OS NMG2 editor : http://sourceforge.net/projects/nmg2editor/?source=directory
My new G2 editor FMX : http://www.bverhue.nl/g2dev/?page_id=17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Electromagnetic Wave



Joined: Apr 28, 2013
Posts: 79
Location: Kebek
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes, android version is well done.

Quote:
And it all responds quite fast.

You can have even better. I decrease the display resolution because I increased audio resolution. I can get a much smoother image. I also had a little difficulty because the camera was 10 inches from my phone and was suspended on 2 glasses. Under normal conditions, this is happiness!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 19 of 20 [487 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use