electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
<on air> Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Problem with pots for DR-110 mod
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 3 of 3 [65 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
andrewF



Joined: Dec 29, 2006
Posts: 1174
Location: australia
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

$500 = three electribe ER-1s? Very Happy

their price seems high but it would take a lot of hours to do, so is reasonable.
time to heat up the soldering iron and get into some diy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
j.dilisio



Joined: May 19, 2009
Posts: 186
Location: baltimore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

AndrewF,
I'd like to know how you wired up your CLOCK IN jack.
The only sync mods i can find are for a 12ppqn input, whatever that means.
It would be nice to slave this to one of my sequencer clocks.

_________________
DRONEGOAT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewF



Joined: Dec 29, 2006
Posts: 1174
Location: australia
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi
my solution was typically brutal (see schematic), it worked but didn't solve the 12ppqn issue.
I have plenty of pulse divider type modules in my synths so it was no problem to have a fast clock for the dr-110 and divide that down for other modules and everything remained in sync.

My dr-110 is now a tt-110. An unholy crossbreed of a $3 record player, a few chunks of wood and half a dr110. Nothing is sacred in my workshop Twisted Evil
The cpu board is dead and gone. Each voice has its own trigger, haven't got around to doing the trigger for clap yet but i think i know what to do. Each voice is triggered by a microswitch. The cct is based on this one by Tom Bugs, except I changed the .47u/20k combination to components I had plenty of.
The input needs to go to ground to get a trigger, easy with microswitches. Less easy with trigger signals. You could try the transistor design I added to the pic below or something like a 4016 or 4066 cmos will do a good job too. The inverters in the schematic below are a 40106.

TT-110 page

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
j.dilisio



Joined: May 19, 2009
Posts: 186
Location: baltimore

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

that is insane!!
I like how it's a physical loop,. it reminds me of Pierre Bastien.
According to technotoys.com, if 1ppqn is quarter notes then 12 ppqn is 32nd note triplets.
I usually use my tr 606 as a master clock, so I'm dealing with 16th notes.
There are 48 32nd note triplets in a measure so I need a way to multiply my 606 clock by 3.
Does that make sense?
Is there such a thing as a multiplier?
Otherwise I'd have to build a master clock, clock divider that can divide by 3, and add a clock input to my 606.

EDIT: I've since learned that ppqn stands for "pulses per quarter note."
Reading back over this sounds like gibberish now.

_________________
DRONEGOAT

Last edited by j.dilisio on Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creekree



Joined: Mar 30, 2006
Posts: 184
Location: Morgenland Neukölln
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

j.dilisio wrote:
Otherwise I'd have to [...] add a clock input to my 606.

nope. there already is one - i am referring to the dinsync input of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
j.dilisio



Joined: May 19, 2009
Posts: 186
Location: baltimore

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Aha!
I just found this page..
http://romancechat.reocities.com/ResearchTriangle/9730/110.html

So the dr-110 runs at half the speed of a tr-606. This seems like a pretty simple fix,. and cheap too.
I just enquired about a dr-110 sync kit from acidlab.de and they want 50 euros plus shipping/customs.
$4 in parts is much more doable.

_________________
DRONEGOAT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meecher415



Joined: Apr 17, 2011
Posts: 1
Location: san frencisco

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:50 pm    Post subject: triggers
Subject description: v trig to s trig
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So all I gotta do is make the moog v-trig to s-trig circuit for each drum but the clap and I can trigger dr110 drums from +5v ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n.d



Joined: Dec 15, 2011
Posts: 22
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

j.dilisio wrote:
Aha!
I just found this page..
http://romancechat.reocities.com/ResearchTriangle/9730/110.html
.


That page is down!. Does anyone have whatever was in it?
Thanks.
PS: I´d also like to know the answer to the question above!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wozr



Joined: May 26, 2012
Posts: 1
Location: australia

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:

j.dilisio wrote:
Aha!
I just found this page..
http://romancechat.reocities.com/ResearchTriangle/9730/110.html
.


That page is down!. Does anyone have whatever was in it?



Yeah... I'm with u n.d... Anybody.. Anybody??
Would be much appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leviathant



Joined: Nov 13, 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wozr wrote:
Quote:

j.dilisio wrote:
Aha!
I just found this page..
http://romancechat.reocities.com/ResearchTriangle/9730/110.html
.


That page is down!. Does anyone have whatever was in it?



Yeah... I'm with u n.d... Anybody.. Anybody??
Would be much appreciated


http://www.geocities.ws/ResearchTriangle/9730/110.html

I'll work on getting a copy of that up on http://www.theninhotline.net/dr110
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sebo



Joined: Apr 27, 2007
Posts: 540
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I did the Sync24 mod to my DR-110 with poor results.
First I tried using a 74HCT74, but the output clock keep randomly jumping between 24ppqn and 12ppqn.
Then I replaced the 74HCT74 by a CD4013, now I got perfect 12ppqn output, but the clock starts 1ppqn behind, so the DR-110 is shifted a bit from my other gear.
I ended adding a direct clock input to the DR-110 and generating the 12ppqn with a VST plugin.

_________________
Sebo
---------------------------------------
My Music:
www.cosaquitosenglobo.com.ar
www.myspace.com/cosaquitosenglobo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shanelink



Joined: Dec 12, 2013
Posts: 2
Location: tampa, fl

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am new to diy and have been working on DR110 mod. I have successfully implemented a lot of the pitch and filter mods, but have a sort of basic question regarding individual outs. Can I just add 2 wires from each output point, one going to a 1/4" out jack and the other to a volume pot? Is there a need for a mixer or opamp? Thanks so much for tolerating my ignorance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richardc64



Joined: Jun 01, 2006
Posts: 614
Location: NYC
Audio files: 25

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

shanelink wrote:
Can I just add 2 wires from each output point, one going to a 1/4" out jack and the other to a volume pot? Is there a need for a mixer or opamp? Thanks so much for tolerating my ignorance.


Some answers and suggestions are here:
http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-35810.html&postorder=asc

_________________
"I am endeavoring, ma'am, to create a mnemonic memory circuit... using stone
knives and bearskins." -- Spock to Edith Keeler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shanelink



Joined: Dec 12, 2013
Posts: 2
Location: tampa, fl

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

richardc64 wrote:
shanelink wrote:
Can I just add 2 wires from each output point, one going to a 1/4" out jack and the other to a volume pot? Is there a need for a mixer or opamp? Thanks so much for tolerating my ignorance.


Some answers and suggestions are here:
http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-35810.html&postorder=asc


Hey Richard,
Thanks for the reply. I've been through that post and done a lot of the mods that Dan Lavin and others have done, but my question is probably more simple than you think. Say I have isolated the bass drum and am sending it's audio out from the appropriate red dot. Can I just solder a wire there that goes to a pot, then to an output jack, or do I need to get involved with a mixer and op amps, as Dan did? As you may be able to tell, I am new to the DIY electronics scene. Thanks so much for any and all help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kosmo Mishka



Joined: Apr 18, 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is it possible instead of moding with pots (pitch, filter etc) make CV inputs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 3 of 3 [65 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use