electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
iConnect Midi2
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:47 am    Post subject: iConnect Midi2 Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

http://momupro.com/iconnectmidi2-review/

Has anyone used this yet? I'm curious if there is much latency

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YashN



Joined: Jun 27, 2011
Posts: 64
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Big Doc Savage fan here.

I don't use any physical interface from my iPad to the iMac: I use the latter as a router, so the iPad wirelessly sends and receives MIDI data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

YashN wrote:
Big Doc Savage fan here.

I don't use any physical interface from my iPad to the iMac: I use the latter as a router, so the iPad wirelessly sends and receives MIDI data.


YashN wrote:
Big Doc Savage fan here.
Wink

Interesting. I would expect latencies to be worse going over wifi, but that
doesn't appear to be the case.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YashN



Joined: Jun 27, 2011
Posts: 64
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Latency is very low even with the default settings of the Network panel. Apparently, you can reduce this even more with an ad-hoc network on Mac OS X. I haven't tried and to my ears the current configuration is instantaneous.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » OSX as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use