electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
MK107 sequencer gate in
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
anclib



Joined: Oct 12, 2012
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:02 am    Post subject: MK107 sequencer gate in
Subject description: diy synth
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello, I was wondering if anyone could help me.

I have a diy mk107 type sequencer and would like to get it to receive a gate input from my Arturia Microbrute.

I have tried connecting the gate out from the microbrute directly to pin 1 on the 4015 chip (replacing the clock signal from the 555) but it just seems to lock the sequence.

Unfortunately I don't have an oscilloscope so I'm not sure what the gate out from the microbrute is exactly, I thought it may just have been a square wave like the output from the 555. Maybe it is some sort of inverse of this 555 square wave signal.

Does anyone know a solution to my problem or direct me to a point of reference to get me started?
Any help is greatly apreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubzy



Joined: Oct 27, 2010
Posts: 558
Location: United Kingdom
Audio files: 63

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

why don't you just hook an LED up to the gate out?
also are you leaving the 555 connected when you put the other gate on?

_________________
_Richard_ Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anclib



Joined: Oct 12, 2012
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, thanks for your reply.

No I have the 555 disconnected via a switch on the jack.

I have found something about using a buffer, as the gate signal output impedance is not that good on the Microbrute.

I just need to find a simple circuit now, I'm not sure if a transistor buffer will be suffice.

Also the clock from my sequencer does not trigger the Microbrute so I'm not sure what's going on there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubzy



Joined: Oct 27, 2010
Posts: 558
Location: United Kingdom
Audio files: 63

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f7/Op-Amp_Unity-Gain_Buffer.svg
_________________
_Richard_ Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHOBoS



Joined: Jan 14, 2010
Posts: 1853
Location: Moon Base
Audio files: 361

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don't think output impedance will be a problem when you're just driving a CMOS input.
Most likely the voltage is too low in which case you could add a transistor (or 2). You can find some more info here.

_________________
"My perf, it's full of holes!"
http://phobos.000space.com/ http://www.acidtrash.com/ Stickney Synthyards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
anclib



Joined: Oct 12, 2012
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just tried the circuit above with a lm324, no change

It talks about the impedience problem here half way down the page http://www.arturia.com/evolution/smf/forums.html?topic=14403.0

it also says the voltage is around 10v, which would be more than enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anclib



Joined: Oct 12, 2012
Posts: 11
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just got it working, it seems that unless the sequencer on the microbrute is switched on, no gate signal is output to its gate out jack, even though the tempo light permanently flashes on the microbrute, the gate must be derived from the keyboard. Its always something simple.

I still needed the buffer though, so thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use