electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Klee sequencer
Built my Klee, now need some help!
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mumblinstevedubya



Joined: Jul 03, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 1:16 pm    Post subject: Built my Klee, now need some help! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Greetings all!

Finally finished my Klee but need to iron out a few problems.

Hopefully someone might be able to give me a few pointers.

Continuity all okay as per builders guide

Powers up okay (15v)
Clock input working - responds to external clock
clock input switch does not work
external load is working + external load switch works
All pattern switches work (tested with manual & external load)
manual load button works
gate bus 1 load switch works
gate bus switches work
bus merge switches work
step button works intermittently - when it stops working the leds on my power supply dim - a quick unplug of power and replug in seems to reset it.
sometimes switching on several pattern switches will cause the leds to dim
glide pot works
main cv out works
All of the gate and trigger outputs work
random input seems to work
rotary switch works.

I have some sequences running but would like it brought up to 100 percent.

What do you need to see or measurements do I need to take to start off

Really appreciate help

thanks

Steve

Last edited by mumblinstevedubya on Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kkissinger



Joined: Mar 28, 2006
Posts: 1218
Location: Kansas City, Mo USA
Audio files: 29

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 9:42 am    Post subject: Re: Built my Klee, now need some help! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mumblinstevedubya wrote:
clock input switch does not work

step button works intermittently - when it stops working the leds on my power supply dim - a quick unplug of power and replug in seems to reset it.
sometimes switching on several pattern switches will cause the leds to dim


Look for a solder bridge .. perhaps around the headers that connect to the load and the clock input switch. These two problems are likely related.

mumblinstevedubya wrote:

all pots work - but seem to sometimes one pot will tune more than itself.
rotary switch works.


This is normal behavior if more than one step position is lighted -- the output voltage is the sum of all the lighted steps.

Good luck to you -- sounds like you've almost got it all working!

_________________
-- Kevin
http://kevinkissinger.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mumblinstevedubya



Joined: Jul 03, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Kevin,

Have gone over the boards with a magnifier so no solder bridges

Its not the load button but the step button that is intermittent - some times it will advance forward every time I press it, other times it seems to 'trip' the Klee out.
I have checked continuity from this to the board and all is it should be.

My 4034s are Motorola MC14034BCP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mumblinstevedubya



Joined: Jul 03, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

just had another continuity check and all the programming pots seem to be on the digital ground somehow.

After more checks everything seems to be grounded to the panel!

Could this be the source of my problems?? Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kkissinger



Joined: Mar 28, 2006
Posts: 1218
Location: Kansas City, Mo USA
Audio files: 29

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mumblinstevedubya wrote:
just had another continuity check and all the programming pots seem to be on the digital ground somehow.

After more checks everything seems to be grounded to the panel!

Could this be the source of my problems?? Shocked


That shouldn't be a problem.

For your troubleshooting, suggest that you load a pattern with one LED only then step through it slowly and see if a particular step causes the problems (i.e., the LEDs to dim, etc). Then look for a short on that particular step's circuit.

In general, when LEDs dim, that means that there is a short that is diverting a lot of current to ground. When you reach a step where the LEDs dim, see if you can find a part that is heating up. Make sure your chips are designed to run off of +/- 15 volts (some of them only are designed for 5 volts).

I know these are general ideas -- without actually troubleshooting it myself I can just offer a couple of ideas of things for you to check. Good luck!

_________________
-- Kevin
http://kevinkissinger.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mumblinstevedubya



Joined: Jul 03, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Kevin

There doesn't seem to be a pattern of how many times the step button is pressed before it 'trips' out

Chips that get hot are the 4034s - seems that its either one or the other that get hot when the klee is shorting out

With all of the pattern switches on (all leds lit up) I can keep pressing the step button without causing the short.
I have just noticed though when I press the step button that the clock input led stays lit for as long as its is pressed. Is this normal?

With the 1st pattern switch off (15 leds on)I can step through all 16 steps no problem.
As soon as I introduce another pattern switch it shorts out

With 1 pattern switch on (1 led)
The 1st to 10th pattern switches short out when step button is pressed
The 11th pattern switch is okay and can be stepped all the way around
12 to 16 short a soon as you press the step button

checked all chips and they all can run off 15v supply

Will check more tomorrow around the pattern switches but in the meantime if anyone else has any input please feel free to stop by.

thanks

Steve

P.S. Know your Klee link doesn't seem to work. Has anyone got a copy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mumblinstevedubya



Joined: Jul 03, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:28 am    Post subject:   Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Up and running 99%

Just need to work out why 2 switches aren't working (clock enable and variable input)

Loose wires seemed to be the cuplrit but I am not 100% sure.

All I know is that it is a lot of fun.
Trying to get my head around the random input but I think it works! Confused

As per my last post - Any help would be appreciated.

Does anyone know where I can get a copy of Know you Klee
The link seems to be dead! Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sduck



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 442
Location: Nashville
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The link for the most recent version in the docs thread works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mumblinstevedubya



Joined: Jul 03, 2013
Posts: 10
Location: Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks sduck

doesn't seem to work on firefox
checked on chrome and internet explorer and it works!

Really enjoying the read

Nice one Scott Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Klee sequencer
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use