electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Bugs
Burning fuses at start-up
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Odd_Bob



Joined: Apr 07, 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Sweden
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:27 am    Post subject: Burning fuses at start-up Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I bought a g2engine couple of days ago. It worked fine for approx total up time of 6h.

Suddenly yesterday after patching some really nice things the fuse burned. I did try to replace it with a similar one.

Original fuse: "T125mA250V"
New fuse: "T160mA250V"

When the machine starts up there is a "hum" sound and the chassi is slightly vibrating.

Have anyone experienced this?

I have opened the chassi and nothing seems wrong. It does not smell weird and capacitors looks ok.

The only parts that have been connected are
1) Head-phone jack
2) USB jack
3) Std Power cable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22061
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 206
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:28 am    Post subject: Re: Burning fuses at start-up Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Odd_Bob wrote:
New fuse: "T160mA250V"


And that one does not blow?

The standard fuse should be T 125 mA for a 230V version, so maybe the 110 that was in it was just a little low. T meaning a slow blow type.

At startup it is a bit of a random process how much current will flow as it's an AC supply and you kick it in at a random time - so could be that 110 mA mostly holds but not always.

Quote:
When the machine starts up there is a "hum" sound and the chassi is slightly vibrating.


Slightly vibrating is a thing that can happen, also there is a little hum on mine, but when the transformer board comes loose a little it could be louder. Don't know how loud all of it is for yours, but some of it is normal and has been reported by others.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Odd_Bob



Joined: Apr 07, 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Sweden
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanx for ideas and thoughts.

The "T160mA 230V" also blows. It is a slow fuse (T=Slow).

I will let an electrical technician take a look on the machine later this week.

I suspect there is a short circuit on the PSU-board.

I will also try to evaluate the electrical supply quality from the power grid
(with Power Analysis instruments).

The hum sound is not loud but significantly higher than before fuses were blown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22061
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 206
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sounds like a good idea then to have it checked.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 892
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 29
G2 patch files: 53

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Odd_Bob wrote:
...I suspect there is a short circuit on the PSU-board...

...The hum sound is not loud but significantly higher than before fuses were blown...

I would suggest that you should try to isolate the problem between the power supply and main PC board. You can do this by simply disconnecting the power supply cable to the main board, then with a new fuse in place, apply power. If the new fuse blows, then the fault is with the power supply. In that case, it will be relatively inexpensive and should be easy to get a replacement from Clavia.

Good luck Exclamation

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Bugs
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use