electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
"Major Error" - OSX Sierra
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sconnection



Joined: Jan 25, 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:07 pm    Post subject: "Major Error" - OSX Sierra Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I just picked up an Engine running v1.62 but unfortunately I'm getting a "Major Error" message every time I try loading up the editor. I've seen a couple of threads about this, but nobody seems to have a fix. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22023
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 203
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

- Try to not use a USB hub, when that is impossible try to use a powered hub.

- Try to use a shorter USB cable, or at least a different one.

It can work, as in I run it on an iMac with the latest OS X and it works fine for me.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sconnection



Joined: Jan 25, 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for your reply. Not using a hub. I've tried a couple different USB cables to no avail. Maybe I'll buy a really, really short one today.

It's weird--I can get it to work briefly only when the editor has never been run before. So, if I trash the editor, and drag a brand new copy into the application folder from dmg, I have been able to run the new instance of the editor, fire up the G2, and load patches up no problem (for a time). Once it crashes or I close it, and I tried to use the same copy of the editor, it won't work again.

Is there any documented way to perhaps run the editor from wine? I've tried but I can't get the editor to see the synth. I'm guessing it has to do with the drivers which I haven't figured out how to install in wine.

I've also got an old Windows laptop somewhere around here. Other than using another computer, is there any other way to verify this is not a hardware issue? I'm worried this Engine has a USB issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sconnection



Joined: Jan 25, 2017
Posts: 3
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So I can rule out that's a USB issue as to the Engine/hardware side of things. I'm writing this from my girlfriend's 2008 MacBook running 10.6.8 Snow Leopard and everything is working great... I'll update if I have any other progress.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3965
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If your problem computer uses USB 3 try connecting via a USB 2 hub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebber



Joined: Aug 27, 2004
Posts: 476
Location: Berlin
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 33

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have the same issue since I updated to Sierra. The editor crashes with "Major Error" but I can just start the editor again. That it startet after updating to Sierra might or might not be a coincidence. I'm on a MacBook Pro Mid-2012 13'.
_________________
Fish don't swim. They dive.
For everything else: The Patcher's Toolbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use