electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Back on the air tonight - Twyndyllyngs
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » MusicFromOuterSpace.com designs by Ray Wilson
Cable thickness?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: dnny, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sprak



Joined: Oct 19, 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:26 am    Post subject: Cable thickness? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey,
does the thickness of the cable matter much in the construction of the soundlab? I'm currently using 0,08 mm² cable (don't know how much that is in non-metrics, but it's definitely much thinner than otcx's fine cable work recently posted here). Do I risk interference between cables? I'm banding them together 6 and 6 too (for the oscillators for example).

_________________
http://www.covox.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4760
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No, it should be fine.
The only limiting factor really is how difficult it is to work with. So you don't want it too thick. The signal levels in the SL are pretty high so there's no risk of interference really. If you want you can screen some of the output lines back to the mixer or maybe a bit further, but there's really no need to.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sprak



Joined: Oct 19, 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Aah, glad to hear that! Now I don't have to resolder every cable Smile Thanks.
_________________
http://www.covox.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: dnny, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » MusicFromOuterSpace.com designs by Ray Wilson
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use