electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Wilson VCO, Signal to Gate, Mixer - (w/pics)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Freq Band



Joined: Sep 05, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:27 pm    Post subject: Wilson VCO, Signal to Gate, Mixer - (w/pics)
Subject description: they work. but I had some Q's
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

From Ray Wilson's site:

Improved VCO:
http://www.musicfromouterspace.com/analogsynth/August2003VCO.html


Signal to Gate:
http://www.musicfromouterspace.com/analogsynth/signaltogate.html

Stereo Mixer:
http://www.musicfromouterspace.com/analogsynth/stereoinputmixer.html

VCO (less the Dorritos):
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
(some good parts):
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/Midiot/DSCN1801.jpg
I tried three different fet's...MF102, 2n3819, 2n3823..all worked. That extra chip socket at the bottom is for a 49.9k DIP resistor (cv inputs).
-----------
Signal to gate:
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
(back):
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/Midiot/dscn1806.jpg
-----------
Stereo Mixer:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/Midiot/DSCN1802.jpg
-----------
Dual MS20 clone:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/Midiot/cce7d545.jpg
-------------------
My workspace:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/Midiot/DSCN1795.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/Midiot/DSCN1796.jpg

--------------------------

This is my first CV controlled synth, so let the newb questions beginnnn.... !! .......
VCO - waves look good on scope, but Pulsewidth control pot will not give me perfectly spaced square waves (longer bottoms w/shorter tops)....it approaches good spacing, but stops short. Does this matter?
When "tuning" for 1volt/1 octave, do I need to look up the standard frequencies and tune to them?....or should the frequencies just double per volt increase? (boy, that a basic Q, whew !) I have a circuit that puts out 1v - 5v, for tuning.
In other words, what should my frequency meter read as I increase by 1v steps?

Signal to Gate: - Works well. I'm using a CD40106 (same as 74C14 I believe). Puts out a 12v gate, is this too much? I assume it puts out whatever voltage it runs off of.

If you haven't noticed, they're all point-to-point wired... Confused

=FB=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigtex



Joined: Mar 30, 2006
Posts: 321
Location: Cupertino, California

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wow! Cool stuff!

Hey, where did you get those vertical PCB mount potentiometers? I've been looking for something just like that. I want to use the potentiometers to mount a board parallel to a front panel.

Edit: it looks like you're using old components pulled from other boards. Is that true? That would sure make for some cheap devices!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scott Stites
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2005
Posts: 4121
Location: Mount Hope, KS USA
Audio files: 96

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Definitely nice work there!

Yeah, the VCO tuning - just tune for doubling of frequency per volt.

The 12V gate IIRC is what to expect from Ray's signal to gate converter. In fact, the modules of his that I use, like the EG's, won't gate or trigger from 5V sources. I put in comparators on the inputs so they'd trigger on lower levels.

The pulse wave - not sure - by smaller at top, do you mean they tops are are starting to come together like a triangle wave?

Again, nice work indeed! Looks like bus wire with cut-to-length teflon sleeving, which I like to use.

Cheers,
Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Freq Band



Joined: Sep 05, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

All of those parts are NOS (new old stock), except for a few chips and electrolytics. I have a surplus electronic store near by......some stuff is dated from the 1960's Laughing

Quote:
Hey, where did you get those vertical PCB mount potentiometers? I've been looking for something just like that. I want to use the potentiometers to mount a board parallel to a front panel.

Clarostat...can't remember the model#.....again, those were about 10 years old, but unused, still packaged. If you look at the blue pots below those, I epoxy'd them to the board. Just make sure you clean the surfaces first...maybe lightly sand them, and that'll probably be stronger than the others.

-------------

Quote:
The pulse wave - not sure - by smaller at top, do you mean they tops are are starting to come together like a triangle wave?

No, The pulse width pot changes the space of every other vertical line in the squarewave (they remain upright).....the pot won't let me adjust them so they're equally spaced. I don't know if this a problem or not...yet. I may have to wait 'till every thing is hooked up together.

=============

I like using those boards with a ground plane on one side,,,,,but I gotta be carefull.....one tiny flake of metal will create a short !! So, I test the plane every 3rd or 4th time I add some components, so I know where to look for a problem. The worst place to get a flake lodged is under a 'lytic, or an IC socket (an air blast usually works). I don't connect anything to the plane till I know everything is working first. In fact, I'll probably coat it (a conformal coating) just before mounting it into the case. I've been reading that some components should not have a ground plane beneath them, as they could inject "stray capacitance" to the plane......... Rolling Eyes ....I'm still a beginner.

=FB=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use