electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
g2 engine midi control issues
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
johnseitan



Joined: Apr 29, 2007
Posts: 2
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 1:47 am    Post subject: loading a performance w/o the editor
Subject description: g2 engine midi control issues
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

greetings!

My question is this:

How do you store a patch to say slot "B"?

or

How do you load a performance w/o the editor from a midi keyboard?

--

Current setup:

G2 Engine (no expansion)
Nord Lead 1 (as controller with local turned off)

My Nord Lead has slots A-D corresponding to midi channels 1-4. My G2 Engine has slots A-D corresponding to midi channels 1-4 as well. I can't seem to store instruments in slots B,C,D on the G2 and access them from the Nord Lead 1 (via slots B,C,D) unless I load a performance. This is "ok" except that I can only load a performance in the software editor and I don't want to drag my notebook with me on stage to play LIVE. Is there any way around this problem?

The Nord Lead 1 *seemed* like an ideal controller because it has the same "slot" architecture, but this issue is somewhat aggravating. I've tried to store patches in diffrerent banks but it doesn't seem to correspond to the "slots". How did the current patches get stored in the other slots (B-D) and how can I write over them? Switching between Performance and Patch mode doesn't seem to help.

john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20480
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:30 am    Post subject: Re: loading a performance w/o the editor
Subject description: g2 engine midi control issues
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

johnseitan wrote:
[..] unless I load a performance. This is "ok" except that I can only load a performance in the software editor and I don't want to drag my notebook with me on stage to play LIVE. Is there any way around this problem?


welcome John.

I'll split this off to a new topic in the general discussion.

I don't know the Nord Lead bit, but I assume you could set MIDI channels for each of the slots.

On the G2 you would want to have all the slots active and in the synth setup dialog assign a different MIDI chanel to each slot - let's say MIDI channel 1 for slot A, 2 for B etc.

Now if you send a program change on MIDI channel 2 a new patch should be loaded for slot B.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iPassenger



Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1049
Location: Sheffield, UK
Audio files: 5
G2 patch files: 78

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

As blue says, that is exactly what i do, only from my controller keyboard.
_________________
iP (Ross)
- http://ipassenger.bandcamp.com
- http://soundcloud.com/ipassenger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnseitan



Joined: Apr 29, 2007
Posts: 2
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:12 am    Post subject: loading a performance w/o the editor
Subject description: g2 engine midi control issues
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, I figured out how to load a performance from my Nord Lead 1.

In G2 editor Synth Settings I turned on global channel 10, then I assigned slot D on the Nord Lead to use midi channel 10. Now if I select slot D on the Nord Lead and change to the performance preset, it loads the correct patches in the slots (A & B for this example).

This still doesn't answer my 2nd question though. If I don't load the performance preset, my Nord Lead still cannot find the correct patch on slot B. No matter what I do, it will only store the patch in SLOT B as a duplicate to what is stored in slot A. How do you "save in synth" to SLOT B?

I'm trying to store "piano" in SLOT A program 7
and "mellotron" in SLOT B program 7

but it always stores the either "piano" in both or "mellotron" in both. As the manual seems to say, Performance settings are a different memory location than Patch memory.

john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3686
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 267
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The slots share the same program space. Maybe you can save piano in program 7 and mellotron in 8, and then select program 7 for channel 1 and program 8 for channel 2?

/stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use